All Booked Up: Summer 2012

Ready to Ramble is a blog feature here on Tomebound
where I discuss or, to be more accurate, ramble on about a wide array of topics. 

Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counselors, and the most patient of teachers. – Charles W. Eliot, The Durable Satisfactions of Life

A quote that I have used so many times is making an appearance here on TomeBound, which shouldn’t come as a surprise for this blog is dedicated to my passion for reading novels. Anyways, the hot summer is closing to an end and due to my hectic OJT schedule, my reading list has been slightly hampered and a lot of my plans would not come to completion. So what am I doing sitting on my desk writing on a blog instead of reading? The answer is, I want to share some of my Booked Up plans for the remaining summer days to you, my few existent readers, and hope that by doing so I could somehow accomplish these tasks. Here goes:

PLAN #1 – Join The Jane Austen Book Club

Two years ago, I’ve read a book by Karen Joy Fowler entitled The Jane Austen Book Club. It was a fascinating story about a group of five women and one man who discuss the novels of the great Jane Austen in a period of six months. Throughout the whole process they start to discover things about themselves and their love lives. It was a read that left me curious as to who Jane Austen was and her novels (because when I started reading this book I was a total Austen virgin, I had no clue who she was). So I did the most obvious action, I bought the novels of Jane Austen gradually and read them all (this decision might be the wisest I’ve made).

So this summer I was actually planning to simultaneously read TJABC and the designated Austen novels that were being discussed in each Chapter. I want to be a part of the whole Club and relate to what they were currently reading. But with time flying by so quickly, I think that this plan is not plausible at all.

PLAN #2 – Read some of my favorite novels once again


Do you have a favorite movie that you’ve watched a hundred times and still laugh at the jokes you’ve already heard or cried at the scenes you’ve already scene? Well I have that feeling to both books and movies. In my case the books I want to reread are the following:

  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
  • The Help by Kathryn Stockett
  • Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden
  • Chocolat and The Girl With No Shadow by Joanne Harris
Again time is really constricting me to do this but if I set my mind, I think I can do it.
PLAN #3 – Buy and Read NEW Books (either recently released or books I haven’t bought)

As with theatrical releases, I anticipate novels that I have been waiting for a while and books I have been lusting for quite some time. Here are some of those books:


– The Serpent’s Shadow by Rick Riordan
– Beastly by Alex Flinn
– Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin
– Something Blue by Emily Giffin

So do you think I can accomplish one of these tasks? In your opinion, which PLAN should I pursue this summer?

Well wish me luck! 🙂

An Update
I was only able to do plan #2 during my whole summer vacation and I actually did not finish the whole list due to my On the Job Training [schoolwork sometimes hinders my reading habit]! 

Leave a Reply

