The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern | Book Review

Plot in A Nutshell:
The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.

But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway: a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them both, this is a game in which only one can be left standing. Despite the high stakes, Celia and Marco soon tumble headfirst into love, setting off a domino effect of dangerous consequences, and leaving the lives of everyone, from the performers to the patrons, hanging in the balance.

-Synopsis (from Goodreads)
Thoughts in General:
Throwing away my total pretension of being a literary critic and totally grabbing the title of a “FANBOY”, I am here to confess my sin of loving this book! To say that this book is my favorite would be a total understatement. I am freaking obsessed with it! The world that Erin Morgenstern created was so intricate and magical that I am at a loss for words when I first read it (and I still couldn’t find the proper words to describe its beauty). A lot of people might disagree with me and that is their opinion and I respect that. The characters in this book are really well-written, the plot is complex and the setting is just gorgeous. This book makes me want to believe in a make-believe circus that I have fallen in love with.  
Thoughts in Details (May Contain Spoilers):
Character/s
 The writing style of the novel is in Third Person Omniscient POV and follows different characters but the main focus of the novel is on the two magicians Celia Bowen and Marco Alisdair and their mystical competition. I just want to tell you that the ensemble of characters in this novel is so theatrical and well-written that this is probably the second factor why I love this book so much.
Celia Bowen is the type of character that you would root for. She’s kind, mysterious yet vulnerable too. Her childhood was paved with different tragedies and I really sympathized with her. Her father Hector Bowen a.k.a Prospero The Enchantermight be considered to be the greatest stage magician ever (even though his tricks are real sorcery) but he is such a terrible dad, I just didn’t like him at all!
Then there is Marco Alisdair the charismatic prodigy of Mr. A.H. (the enigmatic rival of Hector Bowen). Marco didn’t stand out at first because he seems so reserved, I really did prefer Celia over him, but he is still a cool character to read about.
I really liked Bailey’s story (even though I was confused about his significance in the story) because he kind of represents the dreamer in all of us. Poppet Murray is such a sweetheart but she carries a  melancholic vibe that, I’m guessing, is due to her unusual gift. Widget Murray, Poppet’s twin brother, is probably the funniest character in the book and I really like reading his lines and the things he does. Isobel Martin epitomizes the kind of woman that wears her heart on her sleeves and one could either love her or hate her (I tend to be on the gray area when it comes to Isobel). The rest of the characters were all really great and I would let you find it out for yourself!
Setting
Le Cirque des Rêves is probably the highlight of the novel (well the title is based on this) and the most fun part. This is probably one of the few books I’ve read that the setting feels like character in itself. The beautiful descriptions of various tents that Ms. Morgenstern created was so tantalizing, I really wish it is real. Tents that hosts a dynamic maze made up of “clouds”; a tent that holds a garden purely made of intricately designed ice; A tree that grants wishes; A pool that is made of tears and self-expression and loads more interesting attractions that is what The Circus of Dreams offers. Also, the magic system in this book is really mystical and enigmatic but ties in together with the world. These are the things that separates The Night Circus among other circus-themed books.
Story
The book’s plot is simple yet the twists and revelations that, we, the readers find out makes it complex. From the beginning wherein Celia was introduced to Prospero the Enchanter to the conceptualization of the circus by Chandres up until the shocking revelation in the end, the author pieces everything together with such class and whimsy. Ms. Morgenstern crafted a world that is so dreamlike yet unfathomable that I couldn’t help myself but turn the page. The romance isn’t the focal point of the book and, in my opinion, it focused more on the world-building and the intertwining lives of its characters which made it fun and interesting.
Rating:
You guessed it…
2 Thumbs Up! 
Best book in my opinion! It had all the elements I wanted in a book and more!
Have you read the Night Circus? What are your thoughts about it? Tell me down on the comments section!

Happy Reading,

Leave a Reply

