Beautiful Darkness (The Caster Chronicles #2) by Kami Garcia and Maragret Stohl | Book Review


[Note: Before I start doing my thing, I would just like to apologize for being absent in the last couple of days. I know none of you guys are dying of anticipation for my next post. I have been busy with Camp NaNoWriMo and just could not fathom writing anymore after doing my session. Thankfully now I finally managed my schedule and I could proceed with blogging whilst I write my novel (Hooray!) So unto the main topic!]

Plot in a Nutshell:
Beautiful DarknessΒ by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl is the second novel of the Beautiful Creatures Series (or it is previously called as The Caster Chronicles). The synopsis of the book is that Ethan is adjusting to Lena who is starting to pull away from him after the tragedy that had happened in the end of Beautiful Creatures. If handling a relationship is hard enough Ethan starts to get strange visions that eventually lures him into a network of underground passageways known as The Tunnels.
Synopsis (from my own words)

Thoughts in Details:
I just have to say that among all The Caster Chronicles novels this might be the least favorite of mine. I think the main issue I had with this one was the pacing of the first few chapters. It felt like it dragged on and on about Lena and how she was becoming very distant from Ethan. In this novel I was completely annoyed with Lena because she is acting like a total brat especially in the first several chapters. Before I say anything else that could spoil your fun, I really liked the new character that was introduced, Olivia or Liv. She is tenacious, spunky and has this Hermione Granger feel to her that I even came to a point that I liked her more than Lena.

The most exciting part of the whole novel and probably my favorite scene in the whole book, is the confrontation which had this cool fight sequence that just left me on the edge of my seat. It has this awesome twist and you will get to see Amma kick some butt. The ending is so ominous you will want to read the next book.

Even though I had mixed feelings about this novel I have to say that you should pursue reading this one because it has a lot of impact on the consecutive novels. Trust me the epic feel of the next two books is worth it.

Rating:
I give this book a…

So-so Gesture!
Not my favorite at all but thankfully it recovered on the third book.

So what are your thoughts so far? Will you read it or not? And if you have already read this book what are your thoughts about it? Share it down below on the comments section.

Happy Reading,

Β 

2 thoughts on “Beautiful Darkness (The Caster Chronicles #2) by Kami Garcia and Maragret Stohl | Book Review

  1. Thank you Rochelle, I think my intention here has been accomplished. I do hope you will read it and we could have conversations about it! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

