Immortal Beloved by Cate Tiernan | Book Review


Plot in a Nutshell:

“Nastasya has spent the last century living as a spoiled, drugged-out party girl. She feels nothing and cares for no one. But when she witnesses her best friend, a Dark Immortal, torture a human, she realizes something’s got to change. She seeks refuge at a rehab for wayward immortals, where she meets the gorgeous, undeniably sexy Reyn, who seems inexplicably linked to her past.
Nastasya finally begins to deal with life, and even feels safe–until the night she learns that someone wants her dead.”
-Synopsis (from Amazon)

Thoughts in General:
I am a huge Cate Tiernan fan. I have read all of The Sweep novels so I was familiar with her writing style. I went to read this book expecting nothing really big but after finishing it I totally fell in love with the main character Nastasya. I think her personality shines all throughout the book which makes it special. The story was intriguing but I honesty didn’t get the on-the-edge-of-my-seat feel to it. If you are into contemporary fantasy stories with a little bit of mystery and romance this is a book I recommend. It has some history in it, a lot of drama and loads of fun. 
Thoughts in Details (Might Contain Some Spoilers):
Character/s
Main
Nastasya is probably one of the most sarcastic, witty and sassy characters I have ever read and these qualities of hers won my vote. She is flawed as hell and she knows it. Being immortal could really bend ones values and she isn’t an exception. However one night she realizes the wickedness of her and her friend’s ways and her moral compass began to stir her to the right path. Running away to a rehab center in West Lowing after reminiscing about a woman she met in her past that wanted to help her. There are times that she frustrates me but eventually she redeems herself and I couldn’t help but like her even more. The story is told from her personal point-of-view and some of her remarks are really funny.

Minor
River is the zen owner of River’s Edge, a rehab for wayward immortals. Her character personifies the loving, nurturing mother archetype that cares for a troubled person like Nastasya. Her calmness soothes and complements Nastasya’s brash personality. Reyn is described as this tall blonde Viking god that has a primitive vibe to him. He is, in my opinion, an equal to Nastasya and that they really complement each other. The other characters unfortunately didn’t quite impress me as much as these three and some of them feel a little bit flat.

Setting
The book takes place in various places and time (there are flashbacks that provide a glimpse of who Nastasya was) but the central location is in Rivers Edge. I am no history buff so I wouldn’t know if any of the details that the author provided could be true but the way she weaved it into the story feels realistic. I believe that Cate Tiernan built a world that feels authentic and cool. I love how magic is incorporated into her version of immortals (unlike the popular vampire fiction) and the concepts she presents to the readers are so cool.

Story
The plot of the book (from what I have gathered) is really about Nastasya’s decision to take the reins of her life and fight the emotional demons she has been harboring for centuries. However there is also the mystery person who is sabotaging Nastasya’s growth and everything she’s working for. The open ending was a little bit of a surprise but it wrapped up pretty fast that it took me awhile to wrap my head around it. I wasn’t that excited to jump into the next book when I finished this.
Rating:
I give this book a…

Thumbs Up! I enjoyed reading from Nastasya’s point-of-view and I hope you do too.
What are your thoughts about Immortal Beloved? Will you read it? Share your thoughts down below.

Happy Reading,

Leave a Reply

