The Lying Game Series by Sara Shepard | Book Series Review

“Always sleep with one eye open. Never take anything for granted. Your best friends might just be your enemies.” 
― Sara Shepard, The Lying Game



Plot in a Nutshell

I had a life anyone would kill for. Then someone did.

I may not remember much, but I know I led a charmed life. Even in death I’m getting something no one else does: an encore performance, thanks to Emma, the long-lost twin sister I never got to meet. Now, in order to figure out what happened to me, Emma needs to become me. But can she laugh at inside jokes with my best friends? Convince my boyfriend she’s the girl he fell in love with? Hug my parents good night like she’s their daughter? And can she keep up the charade even after she realizes my murderer is watching her every move?

Let the lying game begin.
-Summary (from Goodreads)

Thoughts in General
Sara Shepard is one of my favorite authors because of her YA thriller novel series known as Pretty Little Liars (sounds familiar right?). When I heard that she’s going to be writing a new series, I knew I had to jump on board.  I am so glad I did.

The characters were all written with depth and their unique personalities shine through. Sara Shepard really knows how to weave a seriously crazy and chilling plot that you will just have to wait and see what happens next. However along the way I honestly felt that it became too formulaic and very predictable. The authors’ writing was still sharp and thrilling but after a while you’ll get the feeling that the same thing keeps on happening. In my opinion, the whole series could have been summed up into a trilogy rather than six books. The conclusion of the series was so sentimental for me and I could still feel the emotions stirring as I type these words out.

Thoughts in Details (Might Contain Spoilers)

Characters
Main
Emma Paxton is a foster child bouncing from different foster homes. She had a tough life but under those circumstances she’s actually the good girl type. I really like her but there are times that she frustrates me because she ends up being a little too goody-goody. Sutton Mercer is the ghostly narrator of the books (which makes some parts of the book confusing) and the queen bee of The Lying Game. She is the rich and fabulous twin that took everything she had for granted and she ends up being killed. Sutton’s memory is wiped at the beginning of the story but whenever Emma discovers something huge relating to her death, a memory would come back to her and trust me most of those were really shocking.  
Throughout the series the readers gets to see Emma’s growth and how she becomes braver and more determined and that’s why I liked her in the end.
Minor
The Lying Game boasts tons of characters that range from the cliché to the interesting. So let me start off with infamous members of Sutton’s clique, The Lying Game girls. We have Charlotte Chamberlain the bubbly yet sassy girl which I feel is the second in command in their clique. Her mother feels that she’s not perfect and you could see that she is vulnerable underneath the veneer of confidence. Madeleine Vega is another pretty girl who has everything except for a happy family. She is the kind of girl that has grace under pressure and I kind of warmed up to her. Then there is Sutton’s little sister Laurel who craves her sister’s attention and the younger sister. I find her really cool, sassy and comforting for Emma. Then there is the Gabby and Lili Fiorello a.k.a The Twitter Twins who are constantly on their phones tweeting everything that is happening to them 24/7. I didn’t find them as totally interesting but there constant need of documenting their lives in Twitter is sometimes hilarious.
Then let’s move on to the leading men in this series. We have Ethan Landry who is the only person who figured out about Emma. Throughout the series, Emma and Ethan develop this relationship and you’ll want to root for them. That is all I’m going to say about him. Next we have Thayer Vega, Madeleine’s older brother, who is this mysterious guy that I didn’t like at first but he redeemed himself in the end.
These are the characters that I think really played a huge and constant role in the series but there are loads more of characters that were either complex or cliché.     
Setting
The book is primarily set in Tucson, Arizona to which I have no knowledge about whatsoever but the way she describes certain details about the area made me feel I was there. I also felt the luxe life of Sutton Mercer and her friends which was cool.
Story
The story of the series is kind of like Parent Trap with a deadly and very twisted soul. The series is reminiscent of the author’s other work, Pretty Little Liars in which the thrill and suspense of her writing style left me all pumped up and excited. As I said earlier, Sara Shepard could have summarized this series into a trilogy and you’ll still get the same effect. There are certain portion in the series that felt too melodramatic and I told myself that I wasn’t going to pursue it any longer but thankfully I pushed past it because, oh man, the fifth and sixth books were the best in the whole series. The emotions I had with the ending are so genuine that it resonated within me for three days. I was sad and at the same time happy with resolution and if you read this series you will know why.
Rating:
I give this series a…

Thumbs Up! I like the premise of the series and though it felt too dramatic at times, the thrill and emotions I had as I read the series up until the end rules it out.

Are you up to some teen thriller? Try The Lying Game series and tell me what you think down in the comment section.

Happy Reading, 


One thought on “The Lying Game Series by Sara Shepard | Book Series Review

  1. amazing book review , i give ur book review …. thumps up👍👍👍
    *** i wish that u described Emma in more details, like about her likes and dislikes, etc .***
    even though ur book report is good ✌✌

    Like

Leave a Reply

