Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult & Samantha Van Leer | Book Review

Plot in a Nutshell:
What happens when happily ever after…isn’t?

Delilah is a bit of a loner who prefers spending her time in the school library with her head in a book—one book in particular. Between the Lines may be a fairy tale, but it feels real. Prince Oliver is brave, adventurous, and loving. He really speaks to Delilah.    

And then one day Oliver actually speaks to her. Turns out, Oliver is more than a one-dimensional storybook prince. He’s a restless teen who feels trapped by his literary existence and hates that his entire life is predetermined. He’s sure there’s more for him out there in the real world, and Delilah might just be his key to freedom.

Delilah and Oliver work together to attempt to get Oliver out of his book, a challenging task that forces them to examine their perceptions of fate, the world, and their places in it. And as their attraction to each other grows along the way, a romance blossoms that is anything but a fairy tale.

-Summary (from Goodreads)

Thoughts in General:
I have never read anything by Jodi Picoult. All I know about her is that she authored various adult contemporary novels like My Sister’s Keeper. I eventually encountered her name in the YA section of the bookstore which intrigued me. However I did not purchase the book immediately and so when I saw a hardbound edition in a second-hand bookstore I knew I had to have it. Anyway, the book is really good. I have never encountered a plot similar to this and I thought of it as really innovative. The main characters were fun to read.  Oliver is really witty while Delilah grew on me as the story unfolded. The other characters were well-developed and had distinct personalities. I had a problem with the resolution of the book because it felt too rushed and it didn’t tie up loose ends. Lastly the format of the book that featured illustrations were really adorable and it made it more engaging.

This is what made me like the book even more.
Thoughts in Details (Might Contain Some Spoilers):
Characters
The novel has two protagonists, Oliver and Delilah, and the novel switches from their First Person POV.

Oliver is the main hero in the fairy tale children’s book Between the Lines to which he is describe as this heroic fatherless prince that lacks bravery however all throughout his adventures he develops this trait. Once the book is closed though, every character in that book is released from the roles they were created to play and they have minds of their own. Oliver is tired of playing the same role doing the same thing over and over again and he really wanted to get out of the storybook.
I really liked Oliver’s spunk and determination to achieve his goal. The passion he has to be able to escape the story and become the person he wants to be can resonate to a lot of people who feel that they are stuck in a rut and could take inspiration from him.  
   
Delilah is your typical misfit who tries her best to just blend in. She has a rebel for a best friend and a fussy mother who wants her to have a normal teenage life. But Delilah isn’t really a social animal and she would rather read her favorite children’s book Between the Lines than to associate with her school peers. So when one day she notices something different from her beloved book and that the main character (and her crush) talks to her, she suddenly thinks that she’s going nuts. But eventually she finds out that everything is real and she helps Oliver escape from the book.
I didn’t quite like Delilah at first because she seems to plain but I’ve got to hand it to her she is really persistent and totally cool.
Setting
Jodi Picoult and her daughter Samantha Van Leer’s concept is really whacky and totally awesome. As I said earlier, I haven’t read books like this before and so to me it was a refreshing world. Because of this book I now wonder what are the other lives and longings of the characters in the novels I’ve read.
Story
I am going to hand it to the authors, they really did produce a smart, funny and completely endearing novel. The premise is unique and the characters were cool. A character from a novel manages to communicate with a reader and is determined to get out of the story. That is something you don’t read about that much. However I had a problem with the ending…
 If you don’t want to be spoiled please go directly to the rating section.
Anyway, there is a part in the book where Delilah meets up with the author of the story book. I liked the fact that the author patterned Oliver to her son and that she was adamant to not change the story but the whole switcheroo really didn’t made that much sense to me because it provided a lot of loose ends that I know would never be resolved. The hastiness of the books happy ending really didn’t close certain doors and it left me with a lot of questions.
Rating:
Between the Lines deserves a…

Thumbs Up! Ambitious plot and cool characters, this is a real enchanting book to try!

Will you read this novel? What will you do if your favorite character in a book started to communicate with you? Will you freak out? Please do share your thoughts down below and spread the word about my blog! I would really appreciate it!
Happy Reading,
Leave a Reply

