The Fault in Our Stars by John Green | Book Review

“The world is not a wish-granting factory.” 
-John Green, The Fault in Our Stars

Plot in a Nutshell:
Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.
-Summary (from Goodreads)
Thoughts in General:
This is probably the saddest book I have ever read in my entirety as a book geek. Don’t get me wrong this book was great and totally heartwarming at times but the emotional gravity of the love story of Hazel and Augustus was heartbreaking as well. I was really hesitant on reading this because everyone I know raved about how tragic it was. Two star-crossed teens with cancer falling in love, you know it is a recipe for a Nicholas Spark-esque romance (which I’m basing on the movies not his books). But even though I had a gaping hole after I read this book, I am really thankful for the wonders of this story. Thought at times, I feel that the dialogue was a little too eloquent and it kind of bothered me while I was reading. However the lesson that the readers learn from Hazel and Augustus’ story is totally unforgettable.  It gave me the notion that everything in life is temporary and we should value each every moment of it. A love story for the ages and it will definitely not be my last John Green novel.
Thoughts in Details (May Contain Spoiler/s):
Character/s
The book is told from the perspective of Hazel, a girl who is suffering from a tumor in her lungs. Hazel is sassy and a very resilient person. I know she’ll probably hate me for saying this (and yes I am imagining her as a real person reading this blog post) but she is pretty admirable. She doubts herself and her predicament, which I could relate if I was in that situation, but she comes back from that negative slump better and stronger. She does not let the sickness define her entirety.  
Then there is Augustus Waters our male romantic interest. From the get-go, where they meet in that Support Group, you’ll know that Augustus is really into Hazel. He is described as this hot rod, who is somewhat vain yet not vapid. I really liked him because he is totally blunt and funny. He speaks in a way that sounds so mature for a seventeen year old (this is where the iffy dialogue comments I made above). I just couldn’t help but hear John Green’s voice in Augustus (I watch vlogbrothers videos). In the end Augustus is almost every girls dream guy and what every guy should try to become. He’s smart, valiant and compassionate yet he is vain and crude at times and that made him even more likeable.
Setting
The book is contemporary fiction that takes place in Indianapolis and some parts are set in Amsterdam. Anyway my favorite scene in the whole book is the one in the Oranjee. Their night in that restaurant is just perfectly sweet and romantic (hey I’m a hopeless romantic, so sue me). I suddenly want a taste of Dom Perignon!

Story
The book is a profound love story that tells us the readers that you shouldn’t let anything (i.e. cancer) get in the way of what you want and to whom you love. This is such an emotional rollercoaster! It can make you laugh, smile, tear up and depressed. The romance is simple yet there is depth in it. I am going to confess that I did tear up during the depressing parts of the book (I am not a crier when I read). The ending is also powerfully moving and that afterwards I just couldn’t move on.
Rating:
The stars are aligned for this book because I give it a…
     
Thumbs Up! It is one heck of a good book but the dialogue just threw me off a bit. Be prepared for the feels, it will come just you wait!
What are your thoughts on this book? Did you love it or not? Tell me down below!
Happy Reading,


Leave a Reply

