White Cat (The Curseworkers Trilogy #1) by Holly Black | Book Review

“The easiest lies to tell are the ones you want to be true.” 

― Holly BlackWhite Cat 

Plot in a Nutshell:
Cassel comes from a family of Curse Workers – people who have the power to change your emotions, your memories, your luck, by the slightest touch of their hands. And since curse work is illegal, they’re all criminals. Many become mobsters and con artists. But not Cassel. He hasn’t got magic, so he’s an outsider, the straight kid in a crooked family. You just have to ignore one small detail – he killed his best friend, Lila, three years ago.

Cassel has carefully built up a facade of normalcy, blending into the crowd. But his facade starts to crumble when he finds himself sleepwalking, propelled into the night by terrifying dreams about a white cat that wants to tell him something. He’s noticing other disturbing things too, including the strange behavior of his two brothers. They are keeping secrets from him. As Cassel begins to suspect he’s part of a huge con game, he must unravel his past and his memories. To find out the truth, Cassel will have to out-con the conmen.
-Summary (from Goodreads)
Thoughts in General:
I did not love this book as I thought I was going to be nor did I hate it. It featured all my favorite things in a novel. The book is an occult paranormal with mystery and suspense in it however I wasn’t that enthralled with the whole plot and characters. The thing that bothered me was that I felt like that the story was going on and on in back story and other stuff that made me bored. I did like the magic system of the novel and I thought that it seems really cool. 
Thoughts in Details (May Contain Spoilers):
Character/s
Cassel is the protagonist of our book. Smart, cunning and strong willed Cassel isn’t your typical hero. Coming from a family of conmen and curse workers, you’ll see from the get go that he is trained to become what his family wants him to be. Though insecure that he’ll never live up to his family’s expectation, he would rather stay in the boarding school where he lives than to go back. Cassel is the type of character that I felt a little indifferent about. I just didn’t care if he ever gets back her friend Lila. The other characters functioned well with their parts. Cassel’s brothers were manipulative and cunning (I didn’t see that surprise coming) and I liked how Cassel actually made friends with two of his classmates Sam and Danice
Setting
The world of the Curse Workers was what really pushed me to finish this book. I liked the weird twist of reality Holly Black created with these magical beings. The cool idea of having the ability to instill emotions, change luck, alter memories, and transform things with a single touch is so fascinating to me that I wished I thought of it myself!
Story
Cassel’s determination to uncover what really happened to his friend Lila was admirable although his methods were quiet extreme at times.  I was caught off guard with some of the twists in the story (like what Cassel discovered within himself) but the story build up was a tad bit slow and filled with backstory that I did not care that much of.
Rating:
I give White Cat a… 

So-So Gesture. I wasn’t that thrilled upon finishing the book but it had some pretty good moments.
Have you read White Cat or The Curseworkers Trilogy? What are your thoughts about this series? Tell me down below on the comments section.

Happy Reading, 


Leave a Reply

