2014 Reading Resolution (and Other Novel Stuff)

A New Year’s Resolution List has always been a tradition that is often neglected. I do admit that I am part of the population that doesn’t really stick to this list (oh admit it you are one too! If not, well GOOD for you). However in 2013, I actually accomplished a few goals that were on my list and that really inspired me to pursue another one this year! So in the spirit of my blog, I present to you my 2014 Reading Resolution List.


There are only a few things that I want to do this year that is related to my reading and this blog:

1) Dystopia Reading Challenge 2014

Dystopia isn’t really a genre that I am truly fond of. However I want to change this perspective of mine completely and so I decided to join the Dystopia Reading Challenge 2014 hosted by Blog of Erised (click the annotations for more details).

I am only planning on reading at least 6 dystopian novels this year but who knows maybe I will be able to surpass that (hopefully).
2) Re-reading Old Faves
Possible Re-reads…
I realize that a lot of the novels that I own I’ve only read once and it kind of disappointed me. There are loads of books that I know that I loved but I couldn’t even remember the details or the whole plot. I wish to at least re-read one book a month so that I could relive the tales that I once loved. 
3) Classical Reading

Possible Classics…

A few years ago (in 2011 I think), I was really obsessed with collecting classic novels. It just made me feel more smart and intelligent but the reality is I didn’t understand half of the novels I read! I read all of Jane Austen’s novels but if you ask me the plot or the characters I wouldn’t remember anything. This year I want to read one classic every two months.


4) Join more Read-A-Thons

In one of my previous posts, I talked about my participation in the Christmas Booktube-A-Thon which is a first for me and I really enjoyed it! I wanted to do it more often that is why I am really going to try to join in on reading marathons a.k.a Read-A-Thons! It is the perfect way to lessen that humongous TBR pile that I have.
5) Write More Fiction

The roughest draft of my first ever novel! It will never be read by mortal eyes! 

Last year, I finally accomplished one of my biggest goals in life which is to write (at least a draft of) a novel! It really blew my mind that I actually managed to string up 50k worth of words and I was really proud of myself for that! This year I vow to accomplish the same feat however I am going to tackle this task in an organized manner (the book that I finished is really awful, I can’t even describe how bad it is).

Also, hopefully I could finally finish the Wattpad story I’ve posted months ago! It’s taunting me and I want to finally give the closure that it deserves.

6) Becoming a Booktuber (Book Vlogger/Youtuber)

This idea has been swimming in my mind for quite awhile now however I feel that I am not yet equipped to do so. Watching my favorite vloggers and their expression for their passion in reading via video really makes me want to participate in that as well. I can see that they are becoming much more confident and I want that in my life. I am going to try to incorporate vlogs in this website so stay tuned for that. 

7) Balancing Blogging and my other Passions

I have been blogging for almost two years now and I am not as consistent as I would like to be. Blogging is fun and I love creating new content on this platform however I am not sure if I am still doing it right. I am not certain if I’m investing my passion and energy on the right thing (I haven’t even made any progress on my novel which made me ponder on this). Upon further reflecting about it, I found out that I do love what I am doing but I also need to focus on the other things in my life. I will be taking some momentary hiatuses all throughout the year so that I could balance things out in my life.

The New Year is all about fresh beginnings and new things which is really exciting yet nerve racking at the same time. I know that whatever happens this year (whether I accomplish these goals or not) I will have the time of my life doing it.

How about you guys, what are your resolutions this 2014? Please comment your thoughts down below and please do share my blog.

Happy Reading,       

Leave a Reply

