Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices #3) By Cassandra Clare | Book Review + Discussion


Plot in a Nutshell:
Tessa Gray should be happy – aren’t all brides happy? Yet as she prepares for her wedding, a net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute. 

A new demon appears, one linked by blood and secrecy to Mortmain, the man who plans to use his army of pitiless automatons, the Infernal Devices, to destroy the Shadowhunters. Mortmain needs only one last item to complete his plan. He needs Tessa. And Jem and Will, the boys who lay equal claim to Tessa’s heart, will do anything to save her.
-Summary (from Goodreads) 

 Thoughts in General:

Satisfied and thrilled. These are the two words that could describe how I felt after finishing Clockwork Princess, the last book in The Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare. First of all the character development in these novels was superb! I am really happy in how Cassandra Clare managed the growth and depth of her characters and how she made them feel realistic. I didn’t have a moment of indifference towards any of the characters at all. I felt love, passion, joy and hatred in the different characters she managed to produce in this book. The plot was so intricately designed that I was really shocked with the twists and turn of the story especially in this book. The conclusion of the whole series was perfect (for me). I couldn’t ask for anything more because Cassandra Clare wrapped everything immaculately for this trilogy.
Thoughts in Details (CONTAINS SPOILERS):
[Note: I will be discussing parts of the books in this section of my blog that contains the biggest twists and spoilers. BE WARNED. Also pardon my incoherent stream of thought as I discuss my favorite scenes from the book.]
I’ll try to be at least coherent as I filter through my emotions and put it into the page. Clockwork Princess as I said earlier, is the perfect example of a book that wrapped everything up nicely. I had suspicions and speculations on how everything was going to go down with the final book but Cassandra Clare manages to stump my theories by creating solutions that perfectly fits.
The book does focus on the love triangle between Will, Jem and Tessa and the threat of Mortmain and his Infernal Devices was just the second important thing. I didn’t mind that because I know that am more invested on the romance between these three than Mortmain’s automatons.  
Every character (even the minor ones) in this book was great. Cecily Herondale (though she was just introduced in this book) was one of my favorites in the series. She’s the female version of Will and her spunk and sassiness captured the heart of Gabriel Lightwood and mine. Sophie and Gideon’s relationship blossomed in this book which was really sweet and I was glad that Sophie Ascended into the Nephilim. I am really at awe with Bridget’s fighting skills because quite frankly she appears to be more of a warrior compared to some of the Shadowhunters.
We also have the power struggle between Consul Wayland and Charlotte. The Consul was the Professor Umbridge in this trilogy. He was so corrupt and power hungry that he was willing to stoop so low to stay on power. I was so happy in the manner that he died (call me cruel and dark) and when the Enclave appointed Charlotte as the Consul I was ecstatic (take that Josiah Wayland, you buttface). Henry Branwell also made an impact on the story. He, with the help of Magnus Bane, was actually the inventor of The Portal which was mentioned in City of Bones and it was introduced here in Clockwork Princess.

We finally get to know the real story behind Tessa’s birth and I wasn’t that surprised by it because I think it was foreshadowed in the previous books that she was actually half demon and half Shadowhunter. And I distinctly remember Brother Enoch mentioning the word Eidolon and it was later revealed that her father was an Eidolon demon. I was shocked to know about the relevance of the story of Adele Starkweather (that was mentioned in the prologue) and that Aloysius Starweather’s real granddaughter was actually Tessa’s mother. This was also where Mortmain discussed the power of the clockwork angel Tessa has been wearing. I didn’t know that angels could also be trapped like demons.  
Then we have the whole Jem dying situation. So Tessa was kidnapped by Mortmain’s minion Mrs. Black (who was transformed into this warlock-automaton hybrid). After the fight, Jem’s illness took a huge toll on his health (but he didn’t die yet) and he was unconscious for a while. Will being a loyal parabatai turned to Magnus for help. This was where Jem finally finds out about Will’s love for Tessa and so he asked his parabatai to rescue her and Will, reluctant at first, went ahead.  However as he made his way to one of the towns, Will suddenly felt the parabatai tie break and the insurmountable pain he experienced was so heartwrenching that I really sympathized with him.
So, I thought that was it, Jem was actually dead. When they fought Mortmain in that cave wherein he kidnapped Tessa, three of the Silent Brothers that joined in the battle and one of them was actually Jem! I was suckerpunched when I found out that he was alive. I didn’t expect that at all! So Mortmain died when Tessa channeled the power of the angel trapped inside her necklace and crushed him (which was freaky).
The ending was what really struck me to the core. Will and Tessa did end up being married, had kids and grandchildren. Will lived a good life and he died when he was 76 years old (which made me sad and happy at the same time and I can’t get over it). In the year 2008, Tessa was waiting at the Blackfriar Bridge for Brother Zachariah (Jem’s Silent Brother name). It was then revealed that Jem managed to find a cure for his illness, he relinquished his Silent Brotherhood (which I never knew was possible) and asks Tessa for her love and to be with him. So in the end Tessa got both boys and everything fell into place which was great.
I loved this series so much and I am really happy to start off the year with an amazing trilogy!
Rating:
2 Thumbs Up! No surprise there!
What are your thoughts on The Infernal Devices trilogy? Comment down below and share the blogging love!

Happy Reading,  

Leave a Reply

