Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas | Book Review


Plot in a Nutshell:
In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king’s champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass–and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.

-Synopsis (from Goodreads)
Thoughts in General:
I was really expecting a lot from the moment I heard the raving and the hype of Throne of Glass in the Booktube community and I do admit I enjoyed it immensely. However there are a few things that did not live up to my expectations and I was kind of disappointed by it. The characters were great but the plot isn’t as spectacular as I initially thought it would be (I would further elaborate this thought below). I am going to continue on with the series because it is a really entertaining read and I can’t wait to get my hands on the next book and the novellas.
Thoughts in Details (May Contain Spoilers):

Character/s
Celaena Sardothien is known to be Adarlan’s Assasin and the title isn’t something to be taken lightly. She is characterized as this kick-ass heroine that is totally defiant. However the thing that I did not expect is that she is also portrayed to be just an ordinary eighteen year old girl who likes to read, dress up and go to balls. Before delving into the story, I really pictured her character as this ruthless, no-nonsense woman who isn’t as connected with her emotions and I am really glad that the author completely gave her a certain humanity that I wasn’t expecting. Though at times I felt like Celaena became too girly, I still enjoyed reading about her wit, sarcasm and bad-ass attitude (she kind of reminds me of Elizabeth Bennet from Pride and Prejudice).  
Then there are the two men in her life Dorian Havilliard, the gorgeously depicted Crown Prince of Adarlan, and Chaol Westfall, the solemn Captain of the Guards. A lot of people are already taking sides or “teams” regarding who they are “shipping” for Celaena. I am going to be completely honest here and say that I have equal feelings for these two. You see, Dorian represents the fun, reckless kind of guy that compliments Celaena’s wild energy. Being written off as this handsome prince you’ll definitely get the feeling that he seems to be the perfect fit. But Chaol, on the other hand, is very formal yet there is this underlying sweetness and protectiveness he has for our heroine. He compliments the heroine by providing this certain structure in her life that I don’t see Dorian contributing. So I am kind of in between this shipping war.
Then there is Nehemia  Ytger, the Eyllwe princess that befriends Celaena. From the get go I really liked her character and I knew she was going to be Celaena’s confidante and BFF. Even though Celaena doubts her I always knew her intentions aren’t as terrible as it may seem. She is also such bad-ass of a character and I do hope I’ll get to see her a lot in the next few books.
The other characters in this novel (that I remember) consisted of Kaltain Rompier, the bitchiest character in this book. It is said that this book is kind of a loose retelling of Cinderella and this character most definitely personifies the evil step-sister. I just hated her so much! Then there is Duke Perrington which I always had this suspicion that he was a double crosser and a total cheat. Cain, Celaena’s rival in the contest, is such a brute and I didn’t like him as well (especially near the ending). The King of Adarlan this guy just gave me the creeps!
Setting
The world of Throne of Glassis explained quite well in this first novel though there are still a lot of grounds to explore. The whole Wyrdmark concept is intriguing (you all know I love me some MAGIC) and I want to explore it more deeply! I also want to know more about the banishment of magic in the world of Erilea. There is still a lot of information about the setting that isn’t explained in the first book which to me is a great move by the author.
Story
I really expected Throne of Glass to be totally action-packed and filled with thrills. Don’t get me wrong there are plot points in the novel that delivered (like the wall-climbing bit) however the book felt like it focused more on the flirtation and emotional development of Celaena and the other characters. A lot of the Tasks for the competition weren’t even described thoroughly but instead it was just mentioned in a single sentence in a paragraph. The hype that surrounded this book build up a certain façade of action and thrill that I didn’t quite experience while reading it. I just expected the book to have the nail-biting action I normally get from reading any of Rick Riordan’s work though I admit I really had fun with this book and the story was still really entertaining.
Rating:
I give Throne of Glassa…
Thumbs Up! I haven’t read any high-fantasy novel and I am really glad that I started off this genre with this book!
What are your thoughts regarding this novel? Tell me down below on the comments section!
Happy Reading,

Leave a Reply

