Pretties (Uglies #2) by Scott Westerfeld | Book Review + Discussion

 

Plot in a Nutshell:

Tally has finally become pretty. Now her looks are beyond perfect, her clothes are awesome, her boyfriend is totally hot, and she’s completely popular. It’s everything she’s ever wanted.

But beneath all the fun — the nonstop parties, the high-tech luxury, the total freedom — is a nagging sense that something’s wrong. Something important. Then a message from Tally’s ugly past arrives. Reading it, Tally remembers what’s wrong with pretty life, and the fun stops cold.

Now she has to choose between fighting to forget what she knows and fighting for her life — because the authorities don’t intend to let anyone with this information survive.

-Synopsis (from Goodreads)

Thoughts in General:
The second installment in Scott Westerfeld’s Uglies series did not disappoint! I admit that I prefer this novel other than the first one in the series. It was thrilling, fun and really exciting. The characters are better-rounded here and I finally can say that I rooted for the main protagonist. The story arc in this book is much more complex and we get to see many more secrets that The Special Circumstances are hiding. A really good sequel!
Thoughts in Details (May Contain Spoilers):
Tally, in the first book, really just wanted to turn pretty and if you have read the first book, you’ll know her wish finally came true but not for the reasons she initially wanted. In Pretties, she is now living in a Mansion in New Pretty Town and all she ever wanted was to be accepted in the clique known as the Crims (or Criminals), pretties that had an interesting ugly past. But everything changed when an ugly from her past decided to crash the party Tally was in.
This book is pretty fast-paced compared to the first one. I really liked how I got to see the perspective of a pretty, having this weird haze over everything that you see making it look superficial and fun. The characters in this book became more interesting to me. Zane, the new love interest of Tally, in my opinion is much cooler than David. He seems more compatible for Tally and I really did enjoy his persistent vigor to be “bubbly”. A lot of people might say that Shay is such a total bitch (sorry for the profane word) but weirdly I could relate to her. Even though she was a pretty, the anger and frustration she had with Tally actually managed to relieve her from the effects of the lesion and that is why she became what she was. I know that what she did was wrong but if I were in her shoes I think I might have done the same thing (Tally has this tendency to be annoying and stupid).
Truthfully, this is probably one of those books that made me totally conflicted about the intention of every character. I know that the whole theme of the series is the freedom of having the ability of making choices for oneself, but Scott Westerfeld always seems to transmit the perspective of both the bad guys and the good guys which is brilliant. I do understand the intention of the Special Circumstances on why they do those things (to avoid war and destruction) and the author makes a good point about everything which made me feel really conflicted. However I realize that most of the things that they do was against the right of free will which is really horrible.
Then the ENDING of this book was just heart wrenching! I am really hesitant in picking up the third book but I know that I need to finish this series ASAP!
Rating:
I will give Prettiesa…
Thumbs Up! 
Awesome sequel filled with action and loads of thrill!

What are your thoughts about Pretties? Please do share your comments and feedbacks, I highly appreciate it!

Happy Reading, 

Leave a Reply

