Queen of the Clueless (Interim Goddess of Love #2) by Mina V. Esguerra | Book Review + Discussion


Plot in a Nutshell:
If you’ve been feeling neglected by the Goddess of Love lately, don’t worry — Hannah Maquiling, college sophomore, is in training to take over. The Original Goddess is missing, but Hannah is Interim Goddess now, and she should figure out how to solve humanity’s love problems soon. Quin (God of the Sun) is still her mentor, still really hot, but apparently isn’t as honest about his other earthly relationships as she thought. It’s frustrating, and enough to make her check out possibilities with Diego (God of the Sea) and Robbie (Cute Human).

In the meantime, she’s decided to spend some of her precious training time helping to break up a relationship, instead of putting one together. Why? Because the girl in question happens to be her best friend Sol, whose boyfriend is stealing not just from her, but from other people on campus. Sol didn’t exactly summon the Goddess, but this is what power over Love is for, right? Surely it’s not just about matchmaking, but ending doomed relationships too. (Even when it’s not what people want.)
-Synopsis (from Goodreads)
Thoughts in General:
I have to hand it to Mina V. Esguerra, she really did a great job with this sequel and I actually like this one much better compared to the first book. The plot in Queen of the Clueless is more complex and intriguing with twists and turns that isn’t prevalent in Interim Goddess of Love. The characters in this book seems more palpable to me and their growth and personalities shines through which is a major factor why I liked this book. Though, in my opinion, there are certain questions that did not tied up nicely by the end, still I had a good time reading this book.
Thoughts in Details (Contains Spoilers):
I kind of anticipated that Queen of the Clueless will have a much trickier plot line but I did not expect so much intrigue and mystery in this installment at all.
The main character Hannah has really grown in this book. She’s sassier, more in control and courageous. I like how she stands up for what she believes in but there are times that she is becoming a little too compulsive with her actions and too controlling for her own good (which annoyed me). I also got to see a more realistic side of her friendship with Sol.
Speaking of, Sol has a leading role in this book, being Hannah’s brand new project. Sol is having a problem with her brand new boyfriend, Neil. He’s nice, kind, polite and all but there is this one major thing that is kind of a turn off (I won’t say anything I don’t want to spoil you guys too much). This particular conflict, in my opinion, made the book more interesting. The book did not center itself around a full-blown love dilemma (like the first book) instead we got some mystery and intrigue.
There are still loads of romance in this book. Let me begin by saying that it really annoys me that Hannah kept on pushing herself to get Quin’s affection even though the guy is acting like a total a**hole! I think Hannah needs to have a serious intervention herself because she would rather waste her time crushing on Quin than turning her attention to Robbiewho genuinely likes her. I am just saying she needs to have a serious wake-up call (Am I alone in this?). Don’t get me started with the Diego thing that happened.
The gods in this book (Quin, Diego and Vida) finally felt more humane to me. We get to see Diego, the god of the sea and labor, do some divine intervention himself and I am starting to like him. Quinis starting to develop other personality traits other than being a stoic dude. Though we didn’t get to see a lot from Vida I am quite excited with what she has planned for the final book (that ending is a total cliffhanger).
The writing style in this book greatly improved with the way the author articulated the scenes which felt more vivid. I still do have TONS of questions (like why did the gods choose Ford River College to be there playground? And what is up with the Original Goddess? And what is up with that Neil situation?) but I guess I have to just wait and see what will happen in the final book.      
Rating:
I give Queen of the Clueless a…
Thumbs Up!
 I can’t wait for the final book to be released in print format!
How about you guys? What did you guys think of this book? Please do share your thoughts by commenting down below, I would highly appreciate it!

Happy Reading,
Leave a Reply

