Blue Bloods Series by Melissa de la Cruz | Book Series Review

Plot in a Nutshell:
Within New York City’s most elite families, there lurks a secret society: its members are powerful, wealthy and unhuman. They are the Blue Bloods, an ancient group of vampires.

Schuyler Van Alen has never fit in at her prestigious New York City private school. She prefers baggy, vintage clothes to Prada and pearls. But when she turns fifteen, Schuyler’s life changes dramatically: haunted by the death of a classmate, she craves raw meat and finds herself the romantic interest of Jack Force, the most popular boy in school. As one discovery leads to the next, Schuyler finds herself drawn into the elusive social circle of the Blue Bloods-and a mystery that threatens to destroy them all. 
-Synopsis of the first book in the series (from Goodreads)
Thoughts in General:
My initial reaction towards the whole series was that it was going to be the love child of Gossip Girl and Twilight, which was why it took me awhile to finally sink my teeth on these books (pun definitely intended). It wasn’t until Melissa de la Cruz visited the Philippines last year that I took a chance with this series. The first book, Blue Bloods, wasn’t spectacular at all and it met my notion that I mentioned however the story began to build up in Revelations, which is the third book, and this was where things started to get interesting. There were times I was frustrated with the pacing of the story and the characters didn’t grip me enough. The redeeming quality of this book was the intriguing vampire mythology and that made me stand by this series. The endgame was satisfying enough and I am glad that I took a leap of faith jumping into this series.
Top: Books 1-4 (From Left To Right)
Bottom: Books 5-7 (From Left To Right)
Thoughts in Details (May Contain Spoilers):
Characters
The books were told from a Third-Person POV and had varying perspectives. 

Our main protagonist is Schuyler Van Alen the social outcast of Duschne (a private school in Manhattan) and the granddaughter of Cordelia Van Alen(a prominent social matron in New York’s Upper Crust Society). Schuyler started off as the cliché underdog type of character. I was bored with her characterization because she felt a little too common. Though she progressed throughout the book, I still felt like I wasn’t that emotionally attached to her and I preferred other characters over her. I guess she lacked that certain zing I wanted for a heroine.
Mimi Force, on the other hand, is the nemesis of our main protagonist and I am going to be totally honest I liked her more than Schuyler. Her feisty personality, determined spirit and sometimes twisted mentality made her intriguing in my eyes. Yes, she started off as the bratty socialite that had the Blair Waldorf Syndrome but I saw lots of improvement in her characterization as the series progressed and by the end of the book I couldn’t help but love her even more.
Bliss Llewellyn is such a mysterious character in the first three books. I don’t mean that she acts enigmatic or anything but she is plagued by fainting spells and other curious things which made her somewhat strange. Though by the end of the book I did end up liking her character and how far she’s grown.
The other cast of characters Melissa de la Cruz created were a variety of strong personalities. Jack Force is the romantic interest of Schuyler and the twin brother of Mimi. He is valiant, handsome and kind though there were times he was uptight and really annoying, the guy just grew on me. Oliver Hazard-Perry is probably my favorite out of all the male characters in this book because I could relate to him in a way. He is really caring and a good friend that I felt bad for him when everyone used him like a tissue (especially Schuyler, another reason why I didn’t like her that much). Kingsley Martin is the head Venator (which is like the soldiers of their community) and he is cocky and suave. I really enjoyed reading about him and his banter with Mimi and I would have loved to see more from him.
I really felt bad for Allegra Van Alen, Schuyler’s mother, because of all the things that had happened to her (it was like bad luck was just dumped on her). Charles Force is such a douche in the first book and I didn’t like him that much throughout the series. Though not all of the characters shined, I did find them to be quite enjoyable to read.   
Setting
The concept of the Blue Bloods universe had so much detail that made it unique. This series isn’t about your typical blood-sucking vampires who die when touched by sunlight or staked at the heart. No, the vampires in these books are actually Fallen Angels that were cursed to live their lives on Earth as punishment for initiating the war between Heaven and Hell. I found this ideology of vampires intriguing which made me enjoy the book. I did find a few flaws in this universe and there are things that I felt like were just made up for the convenience of the story. The concept of the Rebirthing of a vampire is still vague to me as well as the real number of vampires in their world.
Location-wise the entire series was not solely based on a specific geographic area and that appealed to me. The central setting of the first book was in New York but the characters also got to travel to Venice, Paris, Rio, Florence, Egypt and London. The places they visited weren’t described in full-detail but I am quite happy with the little tour I got with the places the characters visited.
Story
The main story framework of this series is the age old good versus evil story line and the love conquers all plot. The story build up was slow at times and it felt like it didn’t need seven books to tell the whole gist. There were parts in the books that felt more like filler stories and that it dampened the whole story arc. I did enjoy the final battle in Gates of Paradise but I think it would have been better if the last book detailed it much further rather than concerning itself with Schuyler finding her dad’s parents. The books had a lot of those side stories that I just didn’t feel like it connected to the plot or wasn’t strong enough to be deemed important. 
Rating:
I give the Blue Bloods series a…

So-So Gesture! 
Though I had some problems with this series, I am happy with how things worked out and I still enjoyed myself.

What are your thoughts on this series? Please do comment down below and share your opinions!
Happy Reading, 

*Update – I decided to change my rating for this series after a considerable amount of pondering. It finally dawned on me that this series didn’t actually live up to the criteria of a THUMBS UP rating. It was enjoyable but I didn’t feel like I would be re-reading it anytime soon. It was basically an OKAY read. 


Leave a Reply

