Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #2) by Ransom Riggs | Book Review + Discussion

Plot in a Nutshell:

The extraordinary journey that began in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children continues as Jacob Portman and his newfound friends journey to London the peculiar capital of the world. But in this war-torn city, hideous surprises lurk around every corner. Like its predecessor, this second novel in the Peculiar Children series blends thrilling fantasy with never-before-published vintage photography to create a one-of-a-kind reacting experience.

Synopsis (from Goodreads)

Thoughts in General:
The second installment in Ransom Riggs’ peculiar world is without a doubt, a roller coaster ride of epic proportions. I am still overwhelmed with what I just read and I am just shocked with everything that transpired. I am not disappointed with the sequel at all. In fact it proved to be greater than the first book for numerous reasons. Hollow City showcased the characters varying personal growth and it felt as if they came alive in front of me from the get-go. Most of the characters that were briefly mentioned in the first book suddenly became vivid and amazing. The plot was so thick and rich with adventure, thrill, twists and mystery that lacked in its predecessor. This book also introduced us to the vastness and magnitude of the peculiar universe Ransom Riggs created and I finally got to explore the world that was mysterious at the beginning. This book shed a lot of light to most of the questions I had before. If you find the first book dull I advise you to continue on with Hollow City! You will care and love the world more if you read this book.     
Thoughts in Details (Contains Spoiler):
[Note: I will be discussing certain scenes and all the things that stood out to me in this book which includes the ENDING. So it will have plenty of SPOILERS! Tread on if you have read the book or if you’re a rebel and want to be spoiled deliberately]
There was such a tremendous amount of development for the characters in this book that made them so loveable in my eyes! Jacob annoyed me in the first book because of his spoiled rich kid attitude towards his family and friends. He wallowed too much on his despair and sanity that it turned me off. HOWEVER, in this book I finally saw a different side of Jacob that made me like him a whole lot more. He became more optimistic, friendly and brave as the plot progressed. The way he handled those hollows was spectacular and even though he still doubts himself at times I wasn’t irritated by it. In fact I began to root for him and I am proud of his accomplishments in this book. He IMPROVED so much and I know can say that he is one of my favorite male protagonists!
Emma was still depicted as the same responsible yet totally kick-ass female character that I loved. Hollow City reveals some of the characters backstory and it included Emma’s which made me so happy because I could finally understand where she came from. She is tenacious yet ill-tempered (there were moments in the book that Jacob needed to stop her from doing crazy and risky things). One thing that bothered me was that she has one of the most dangerous and active peculiarity but she rarely use it during the times they were in trouble (i.e. when the wights kidnapped them along with the Gypsies or when they were being chased by a hollow. Are hollows impervious to fire or something?) although these were minor irks on my part.
Millard, the invisible dude and factoid extraordinaire, was just spectacular in the book. I mentioned in my MPHfPCreview that he was a geek and in this book he just proved to me that he is an awesome geek. The way he deciphered the clues on the Tales was really impressive. The thing that bothered me was that the book sometimes describes him in a way that made me think Jacob could see underneath his invisibility. He proves that knowledge is power.
Bronwyn is probably one of my favorite characters in the book because of her compassion and protectiveness over her friends. She proves to be good-hearted and loyal however I had the same issue with her peculiar ability. Correct me if I am wrong but is she invincible over bullet and such? I thought her power was strength and invulnerability (I might be wrong about this), so why the heck didn’t she use her strength to fight of the wights when they were captured? She isn’t only physically strong but morally as well (when she didn’t want them to steal that ambulance because a lot of people needed it, proves this).
Hugh is probably the minor character in the first book that shined here. The way he used his bees to battle out those wights when the others were kept captive in that barn was incredible. I am impressed with his abilities and how he became so vital in the team.
Olive is so cute, adorable and was useful too. Her lightness proved to be effective when she found the island wherein the mysterious loop of Ms. Wren was located. Although I was annoyed at her naïve perspective on things but still she is such a charming character. Horace and the most annoying character Enoch, in my opinion, didn’t do that much but Enoch was just a total downer all throughout the story which was SO irritating!     
Then there were the brand new characters that appeared in this book (though forgive me but I could not remember their names). There were the peculiar animals, the talking dog and emu-raffe and I quite enjoyed reading about them. Then there were the peculiar girl who could heal herself, the inseparable brothers that act like bats and that telekinetic girl. I honestly did not think that these brand new characters conveyed any importance in the story aside from minor things and I could have lived without knowing any of them (Side Note: I really ship Millard and that telekinetic girl for some odd reason). However knowing about the “Ministry of Peculiars” (I made this up, this is not the real name of that organization) was really fascinating to me and it made me want to know more about the peculiardom.  
The plot of this book was just freaking fantastic! I was on the edge of my seat from the very first page of this book and I was immensely worried about the conditions of the characters every time they faced danger (I grew fond of them). I felt so immersed in the world that I also doubted the persons they could trust or felt the panic when they were in dire situations. One of the reasons that made me love this book so much is that it made me feel tons of different things!
Can we discuss the wicked twist that happened when the peregrine transformed? I did not see that coming at all and I was shell-shocked and frustrated by it! I was majorly pissed when that scumbag killed that ice controlling girl and Jacob became a total BADASS at the end of this book when he finally realizes that he could control the hollows. I wanted to punch my fist into the air and yell with triumph because finally the good guys had an advantage!  
Rating:
Hollow City is a worthy sequel so I generously give it a… 
2 Thumbs Up! 
I had an incredible time reading this and I am now itching to have the third book!
What about you guys? What are your thoughts regarding this book? How did it make you feel? Please share your opinions by commenting down below.
Happy Reading,

Leave a Reply

