Unravel Me (Shatter Me #2) by Tahereh Mafi | Book Review + Discussion

Plot in a Nutshell:

Juliette has escaped from The Reestablishment. Now she’s free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch. Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible. Haunted by her past and terrified of her future, Juliette knows that she will have to make some life-changing choices. Choices that may involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.

Synopsis (from Goodreads)


Thoughts in General:
[Note: First of all, if you haven’t read the novella Destroy Me I just want to really encourage you to read that book before you dive into this one. It is a prerequisite to read it because things will make more sense if you do it. Just trust me, you will thank me later.]
This is what I really like, sequels that makes me fall in love with its world and Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi proved to be a worthy follow-up to Shatter Me. This book was so much more intense with action. It also finally answered most of the questions that were burning on my brain as soon as I finished its predecessor. We got to see the characters evolve in ways that made them likeable and real (remember when I said that the first book felt depressing because the characters were all drab). It had a lot of moments that were nice, light, sad, horrifying and shocking which made me totally excited to turn the pages. Though the intense and passionate make-out sessions were still there, it wasn’t as prevalent compared to the first book. The plot thickens in this book which made it entertaining and it kept me on the edge of my seat.
Thoughts in Details (Contains SPOILERS! BE WARNED):
This book was beyond what I expected it to be! The first book was entertaining but it lacked a certain oomph factor to it but Unravel Me just delivered really well. So the book started off with Juliette being all loner-minded and back to her I-am-not-worthy-of-anything-I-just-wanna-die mentality which irritated me. I was expecting her to be open and more accepting of her gifts, since she was staying at Omega Point, which was mutant central (sorry I just couldn’t help but think of X-Men when I read the book). However that was not the case, she reverted back and I started to dislike the book. Thankfully Kenji’s funny and totally frank personality stopped me and I pushed through.
I previously mentioned that Adam in the first book was an okay character. He wasn’t exciting to read about and in the second book he got a little bit interesting. There’s this question that burned in my head as soon as I discovered Adam could touch Juliette without dying and that is “How the heck was he able to pull it off?” and in this book we finally get an answer. It’s because he is one of them, he is also a gifted person. The trippy part is that he can disable another mutant’s gift which explains the answer to my question. Coincidentally the more he interacts with Juliette and be comfortable with her the effectiveness of his power lessens, making him vulnerable to her lethal touch (I know! Crazy right?)! So expectedly Juliette goes completely crazy and she decides to break up with him. This was when things began to get interesting because we finally get to see Juliette slowly growing and not totally relying on Adam.
Warner in this book became such a star. I started to like him when I read Destroy Me and it actually helped me understand him much better as I read this book. The scene where he read Juliette’s journal in front of her, completely made me take his side on the “shipping” department. Weirdly enough he understood her so much more than Adam because in hindsight Juliette and Warner were two peas in a pod. They were both viewed by society as this horrible monster and they experienced cruelty in almost the same manner which made him, in my eyes, more suited for our protagonist.
In this book we are also introduced to the main opposition Anderson, the ruthless leader of The Reestablishment. He is described as this handsome and totally charismatic villain and he is by far one the biggest asshole I have ever read about. He is such a heartless, godless and horrifying human being which makes him a really good adversary, in my opinion.
Then there’s this twist about Adam and Warner being brothers through Anderson (which was shocking and mind-blowing). I really had this tiny hunch that the two of them shared a mother so when I found out the truth I was really gob smacked. I am now getting the feeling that Anderson might have his own super powers.
The last things that really stunned me, was when Anderson killed Juliette! Well almost (thank goodness Warner and the healing twins were their) but I actually gasped as the bullet sailed through her heart and the way she described the feeling of dying gave me goosebumps.
Unravel Me really made me really like this trilogy so much because of the complexity of plot and the growth of the characters. I hope that Ignite Me, the final novel, will wrap everything up nicely!
Rating:
Unravel Me deserves a…
Thumbs Up!
The book was really entertaining and unnerving that made me fall in love with the characters!
What are your opinions regarding Unravel Me? Please do share your thoughts by commenting down below! I would love to get your insights regarding this book.
Happy Reading,


Leave a Reply

