Ignite Me (Shatter Me #3) by Tahereh Mafi | Book Review + Discussion

Plot in a Nutshell:
The heart-stopping conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series, which Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, called “a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love.”

With Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know if the rebels, her friends, or even Adam are alive. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all. Now she must rely on Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45. The one person she never thought she could trust. The same person who saved her life. He promises to help Juliette master her powers and save their dying world . . . but that’s not all he wants with her.


The Shatter Me series is perfect for fans who crave action-packed young adult novels with tantalizing romance like Divergent by Veronica Roth, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and Legend by Marie Lu. Tahereh Mafi has created a captivating and original story that combines the best of dystopian and paranormal, and was praised by Publishers Weekly as “a gripping read from an author who’s not afraid to take risks.” Now this final book brings the series to a shocking and satisfying end.

-Synopsis (from Goodreads)
Thoughts in General:
The final book in my opinion either can make or break the entire series and I am so happy to say that Tahereh Mafi did this entire series a great deal of justice through Ignite Me. The way the main protagonist grew as a person and how she finally blossomed into something that was really remarkable was such a feat to behold. This book was not action packed but oddly enough I am immensely happy with it. The way Tahereh Mafi wrapped loose ends and settled conflicts were simplistic yet remarkable and that compensated the lack of action I got from this book. The book focused more on the characters and not the plot which was ballsy because normally the finale is very story-driven but the author did it with such finesse that I couldn’t help but smile as I finished the last page of this book.
Thoughts in Details (Contains Spoilers! BE WARNED!):
Holy Crap this book was outstanding! Yes I am going to say it right now this is the best book in the entire trilogy!

Juliette had the most wonderful character development I’ve ever read in quite some time. Basically she started off as a whiny, dramatic, scared and utterly whimpy girl who was afraid of her own shadow (metaphorically speaking) in Shatter Me. She lived in her own little bubble of twisted thoughts and I, being the reader, eventually assumed that she was clinically insane. Although she spent her time feeling so sorry for herself and I did sympathize with her but she did it so constantly it became quite irritating. Thankfully in Unravel Me she finally began to break through that kind of mentality but it was done in such a slow and realistic way that made me appreciate her character even more. She didn’t change her perspective over night and she took time developing her confidence within her self and her capabilities. But in Ignite Me Juliette finally rose from the ashes of her old self and claimed her own power and sense of self-worth and she became such a completely different person from where she began and that made me really proud. I can’t believe I am saying this but I am so grateful that Anderson (the villain) shot her right on the chest because having that Near Death experience woke her up to the reality of the situation and changed her life for the better.   
Warner, holy moly, was so freaking fantastic as the male lead! I am really happy that Juliette finally opened her eyes to see that Warner really does care for her. I really enjoyed the part where Warner finally explained his side of the story to her. How he saved the family of that abusive bastard (excuse my language) soldier whom he killed in the first book and he basically shed a lot of light to all the things Juliette accused him of doing. We also find out a lot of his past particularly about his mother who also has the same thing with Juliette but way way way worse (the woman can’t even handle touching herself and she basically went crazy). I can’t believe or even fathom Warner’s love for Juliette and it pained me to see how Juliette was still kind of iffy about the whole relationship situation all because of her first love Adam. 
Adam (cue in the ugghhh) on the other hand in this particular book was so infuriating! I was so mad at him as I read the parts where he was acting like a total ass, even though I knew where he was coming from. He became such a jerk that it wasn’t even funny. In Fracture Me (the novella written in his perspective) I kind of foresaw that Adam and Juliette would not get together (cue in HAPPY DANCE). However I didn’t expect Adam to be so grudging. I can’t even tell you how horrifying that scene when he told Juliette he rather see her dead than to be with her at that moment (I wanted to gut him so hard). At least they finally admitted to themselves that it wasn’t love they were feeling for each other but acceptance.
Kenji was or is my favorite character in the whole trilogy. God I even like him more than Juliette! He was so dang frank and candid! He cusses all the time which is not something I am fond of but he did it in a way that suited the scene (which never failed to make me laugh). The expletives just adds more hilarity in the dialogue and I love it. He also became the rock of the whole team and he constantly played referee whenever Juliette, Adam and Warner would fight! Anyway, his relationship with Juliette was just amazingly portrayed. Ignite Me showed the depth of Kenji and Juliette’s friendship which wasn’t that apparent in previous novels. I found the sweet moments on the roof really cute and the way he always makes fun of Juliette was so funny. This book proves that a girl can have a male best friend who is not gay or romantically linked to them! 

James didn’t shine in this novel but he still made me laugh out loud. He was so brave all throughout the series like if I was eleven years old and I live in that world I think I wouldn’t survive much less still have the bravery, honesty and innocence of this kid. The scene where he and Warner finally interacted was funny and really precious. 
We also have the Omega Point crew which consist of Castle (the psychokinetic ex-leader of the said crew who was stuck on this shell-shock state after what happened in Unravel Me and Fracture Me), Brendan (the cool British kid with electric powers), Winston (the elastic guy who is geeky), Lily (the girl with such an intense photographic memory), Ian (the powerless dude who started off as a jerk) and Alia (the designer of the suits Juliette and Kenji wears and possibly Adam’s future love interest) who in my opinion acted like extras in the book but still were important. 
I have heard or read somewhere that this trilogy was probably the most sexy dystopian that person has ever read and I will testify to that. At the very beginning, the scenes where the protagonist and her love interests interact romantically was always so intense and passionate and Ignite Me had those moments as well (especially when Juliette finally professed her love for Warner that scene was really hot).

As I said earlier, this book wasn’t that action-packed. As I was reading 3/4s of the book, I was kind of confused as to when will they be fighting of The Reestablishment. Then when it finally came it felt, in my opinion, rushed and easily resolved (although the satisfaction of seeing Anderson with a broken leg and two bullets planted on his head was satisfying). I would have love to see an EPIC battle but still this book just smoothed over a lot of things that left me satisfied in the end. 
P.S. Is it just me or can you also smell a spin-off series coming? That ending feels too open for me and I want to see how Juliette takes over the rest of The Reestablishment.
Rating:
Ignite Me is a fiery finale that deserves a…

2 Thumbs Up!
I am really happy how things got wrapped up!
Have you read Ignite Me? What are your thoughts about it? Do you think there will be a spin-off or sequel coming? Please do share your opinions about the book or the things that I said by commenting down below!

Happy Reading,

  
Leave a Reply

