Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Child [Captured Novelties]

Captured Novelties is a feature here on Tomebound that was designed to showcase my ever-growing passion for book portraiture and photography in general. Having slowly developed an enthusiasm for photography, I am really excited to share with you guys what I captured and what I possibly learned in the process. Disclaimer: All the photos presented here are captured and edited by me, the author of this blog. 

The Book: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
Camera: iPhone 5’s iSight Camera
Date Photographed: March 17, 2013
Editing Programs/Apps Used: VSCOcam [my ulitimate favorite], LensLight
National Bookstore (which is the Philippines most popular bookstore chain) in partnership with The Philippine Star (a popular newspaper) started a local Instagram photo contest last January with the theme #MyFaveBookMySelfie2014. Basically the contenders are tasked to snap a photograph of themselves with a book (or only the book itself, if you are camera shy) and create a brief description of what the book is about and tag it with (hashtag) #MyFaveBookMySelfie2014. The most creative photo will be chosen every week and the announcement of the winners will be printed on the Sunday publication of The Philippine Star as well as National Bookstore and The Philippine Star’s Instagram page plus there are prizes given to the winners!  
As a lot of you guys might already know, I am obsessed Instagram Junkie who loves  photographing books (hence this feature) and if you follow me you can totally validate this statement. So I participated in this and posted quite a few photos that did not fair well however last Sunday (March 23, 2014) I was lucky enough to strike gold and won for that week with the picture you are seeing above! I was so ecstatic to the point that I crazily danced around the house and laughed with joy.
The Newspaper Announcement! 
This photo was taken when my friends and I went to visit our alma mater De La Salle University – Dasmariñas. I am proud to say the DLSU-D is one of the most ecologically gorgeous campuses here on the Philippines and the environment of the school felt like the perfect backdrop for an idea that bubbled inside my brain for a few days.
The tone of the book felt really monochromatic because of the creepy yet alluring vintage photos Ransom Riggs added so I wanted to capture the same feel as well. With the use of VSCOcam I converted the original photo into a bleak Black and White photograph and I added that ball of fire (inspired by Emma Bloom) with the wonderful LensLight App! 

Voila!  
If you live in the Philippines and want to join in on the fun follow National Bookstore‘s Instagram account (@nbsalert) and The Philippine Star (@philippinestar) to know more about the complete details.
What do you guys think of the photo? Please do share your opinions by commenting down below!

Happy Reading,
Leave a Reply

