Under The Never Sky (Under The Never Sky #1) by Veronica Rossi | Book Review + Discussion


Plot in a Nutshell:

Aria has lived her whole life in the protected dome of Reverie. Her entire world confined to its spaces, she’s never thought to dream of what lies beyond its doors. So when her mother goes missing, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland long enough to find her are slim.

Then Aria meets an outsider named Perry. He’s searching for someone too. He’s also wild – a savage – but might be her best hope at staying alive.

If they can survive, they are each other’s best hope for finding answers.

-Synopsis (from Goodreads)
Thought in General:
Honestly I only picked this up because the author Veronica Rossi is coming in Manila this month and I couldn’t pass up the opportunity of meeting her alongside with Tahereh Mafi and Ransom Riggs. Under The Never Sky is the first book in a Sci-Fi, Dystopian hybrid trilogy and I am really happy with how the book turned out. The plot and setting were really interesting however I felt like that the characters (specifically the protagonists) were kind of bland. I quite enjoyed the whole book however it did not blow my mind with awesomeness.  
Thoughts in Detail:
Character/s
Under The Never Sky was written in a Third Person POV that follows two main characters Aria and Peregrine (a.k.a Perry). 

Aria is a girl who lives in a contained society where disease doesn’t exist anymore and their lives were cocooned in The Realms (a.k.a Virtual Reality). Okay so Aria is a decent protagonist. She is determined, level-headed and I like her as a character. In the beginning she mildly annoyed me with what she was doing but eventually she grew on me. The way that she handled situations were realistically portrayed (she started out as a helpless damsel in distress but as the novel progress she slowly became self-sufficient and her enthusiasm in learning new things made it authentic for me).
Then there’s Perry, the Outsider savage that lives in a tribe outside of Reverie. This guy sort of frustrated me at first because of how he acted and handled certain situations (like how cold he treated Aria at the beginning). His weird ability to smell stuff kind of distracted me at first (the way he smelled emotions out of people) however I saw how heroic he was to risk his life for the people that he loves. 
Here’s the thing though, I felt like the characters were all a little bit flat. The two main protagonist felt so similar to me (they were both technically outcasts in their respective societies) and I just didn’t see any complexity in their characterization. 
Setting
To me, this books screamed Sci-Fi and less dystopia because of how scientific and complicated the setting was and I really liked that. I am not biggest fan of Sci-Fi but oddly enough this is the aspect that I really enjoye din this book. In the beginning I was completely confused with the jargon Aria and her peers were using (i.e. Reverie, Ag6, Pods etc) but I slowly got the hang of it. Add Perry’s Outsider world and I was just fascinated with the entire world Veronica Rossi crafted. 
Story
Basically the two main characters were exiles trying to fight their way back to their societies but along the way they discover things within themselves that changes their perspectives. There were a few startling revelations along the way but nothing totally groundbreaking happens. I might sound like a total weirdo right now but this book had no funny moments at all. I felt like I had the same facial expression until the end. The romance was really predictable but that’s okay with me. The book ended in a way that if I wasn’t such in a hurry to finish the trilogy I wouldn’t immediately pick up the next book. 
Rating:
I give Under The Never Sky a…
So-So Gesture
It was a good book but it didn’t excite me as much as I wanted it to. 
Have you guys read Under The Never Sky? What are your thoughts regarding this book? I would love to know so please do share your thoughts by commenting down below!
Happy Reading, 
    
Leave a Reply

