Into the Still Blue (Under The Never Sky #3) by Veronica Rossi | Book Review + Discussion


Plot in a Nutshell:

The race to the Still Blue has reached a stalemate. Aria and Perry are determined to find this last safe haven from the Aether storms before Sable and Hess do–and they are just as determined to stay together.

Within the confines of a cave they’re using as a makeshift refuge, they struggle to reconcile their people, Dwellers and Outsiders, who are united only in their hatred of their desperate situation. Meanwhile, time is running out to rescue Cinder, who was abducted by Hess and Sable for his unique abilities. Then Roar arrives in a grief-stricken fury, endangering all with his need for revenge.

Out of options, Perry and Aria assemble an unlikely team for an impossible rescue mission. Cinder isn’t just the key to unlocking the Still Blue and their only hope for survival–he’s also their friend. And in a dying world, the bonds between people are what matter most.

In this final book in her earth-shattering Under the Never Sky trilogy, Veronica Rossi raises the stakes to their absolute limit and brings her epic love story to an unforgettable close.
– Synopsis from Goodreads

Thoughts in General:

Have you guys ever experienced liking a sequel so much even though you weren’t totally amazed with its predecessors? Into The Still Blue was that for me. I am amazed at how I enjoyed this book considering that I thought the first book was really dull. This was so much more intense and action-packed. There were scenes that I felt excited and anxious at the same time. The characters were incredibly developed and the twists and turns were surprisingly good. This book, I believe, completely redeemed the whole trilogy for me and I am really satisfied with how Veronica Rossi tied up all the loose ends.

Thoughts in Detail (CONTAINS SPOILERS! BE WARNED!):

I want to start off by saying that the characters in this trilogy started off really forgettable. In Under The Never Sky I felt so detached from the protagonists and I wasn’t that into the story. However things started to change when I read Through The Ever Night because of the way Veronica Rossi handled the development of these characters and that’s when I knew that I actually care about them.

Into The Still Blue was no exception and I rooted for the protagonists Aria and Perry all throughout their journey. 

Aria developed into such a strong female lead. She is much more kickass in this book by the way she handled certain situations (i.e. when she managed to outwit Kirra and when she kicked Loran on the head) and yet she still have a soft and emotional side to her that I really appreciate. She also became such a good role model for the Dwellers and they looked up to her as their leader.

Perry grew on me so much as I read this book. I began to care for him in ways that I would never have in the first book. He has become mature, sensible and heroic which made me so proud of him. He was willing to sacrifice himself just to save his loved ones and the Tides. In that scene when he broke the news about him joining Cinder in that Hovercraft, I knew that there was a huge chance he would not make it really won me over.

Roar was really infuriating at the start of the book. He picked fights with Perry and he acted like a total douche. And that scene when they were about to escape in the Komodo and he decided to ran after Sable (the villain) was so stupid of him I wanted to punch him on the gut. However he still di0d a lot of good and I forgive him for all his bone-headed moves.

The surprising character development that I witnessed was with Soren. I didn’t expect him to be one of the shining stars of this book. He played a HUGE role in this book by being the expert hacker, comic relief and, to be completely honest, sometimes the idiot of the team. I never thought that I would like him but I did. 
Sable is such a vindictive, nefarious and malicious villain. The way he deceived Hess and the way he took control of everything by being cunning and manipulative was annoyingly impressive. This book really presented such an evil threat that lacked in the first two books and I think that added to the charisma of the trilogy.
The plot was much more complicated than its predecessors and the action in this was so intense it only took me just a few days to finish it (which only happens to books I thoroughly enjoyed). I enjoyed the fact that we finally can put a face to Aria’s mystery dad and also the fact that everybody seemed to have a happy ending. However there is one question that still bothers me. 
“What really happened to Cinder?” 
But I guess I will just open up my imagination to get the answer. I am also saddened by the number of casualties in this book but I guess that is part of a good and exciting finale.

Rating: 

Into The Still Blue gets a…

Thumbs Up!
A worthy final book in this trilogy! I am really glad that I pushed through!

What did you guys thought of this book? Did it satisfied you? Please share your thoughts by commenting down below!

Happy Reading,

Leave a Reply

