Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1) by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian | Book Review

Title: Burn for Burn
Author: Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian
Publication: September 18th 2012 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Format: Paperback, Export Edition, 354 pages
Source: Personal Purchase from National Bookstore


Plot in a Nusthell:

Postcard-perfect Jar Island is the kind of place where nobody locks their doors at night, where parents can sleep easy, knowing their daughters are tucked away safe and sound in their beds. 


But bad things can happen, even to good girls . . . and sometimes, the only way to make things right is to do something wrong. 
Lillia used to trust boys, but not anymore. Not after what happened this summer. And she’ll do whatever it takes to protect her little sister from the same fate. 
Kat is over the rumors, the insults, the cruel jokes made at her expense. It all goes back to one person–her ex-best friend. Someone needs to teach her a lesson, and, with Lillia and Mary behind her, Kat feels up to the task.
Four years ago, Mary left Jar Island because of a boy. But she’s not the same girl anymore. Now that she’s got friends who have her back, he’s going to be in big trouble.
Three very different girls who come together to make things right. Will they go too far?

-Synopsis from Goodreads

Thoughts in General:
Vengeance stories has this certain effect on me that makes me giddy and happy (I know I am twisted) and while I was reading this book I had those feelings swirling inside of me. Burn for Burn by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian had a revenge-plot without going overly dark. It still had that lightness to it that didn’t made it overbearing. The characters were written well although a few of them lacked a certain oomph factor. The plot was really engaging although I found plenty of cliche moments in them and there’s this thing that really bothered me up until now. The way it unfolded was smoothly done and I am really excited to continue on with the trilogy.
Thoughts in Detail (CONTAINS SPOILERS):
Characters
The book was told from the three First Person POVs of Kat, Lillia and Mary which was really interesting.
Kat was the bad girl of the town and all she wanted was to teach her ex-best friend Rennie a lesson for spreading those awful rumors about her. Kat was really sassy and badass. I really liked how tough and rough she sounded through her narratives. She’s so gruff and straight-to-the-point that I wanted to have someone like her in my life because I knew she’ll stick out for me in the end. 
Lillia was the rich princess type. Although she appears to be one of the popular kids, something happened between her and Rennie (her BFF) that made her question her loyalty to her friends. I found that Lillia was prissy and over-dramatic at times however I still enjoyed her parts. The way she was over-protective of her sister made her awesome in my eyes. Although there were moments I questioned her motives for exacting vengeance on her peers, once I found out what really happened I understood her participation. 
Then we have Mary whom I found really odd but eventually I also rooted for her. At the beginning I couldn’t quite understand what her deal was however when the story revealed how she was wronged I sympathized with her greatly. The things she’s been through captured my attention and I wanted her to achieve her goal (especially the part about her twelfth birthday party, that crushed me). However I kind of felt iffy with her obsession with Reeve when she was a kid and she was kind of bland as a character. 
Then we have the people on the “hit list”…

I really hated Rennie! She was haughty (even though she’s not that rich), bossy, annoying, narcissistic and she was such a total social climber. The things Kat and Lillia revealed about her just proved why I hated her so much. Then we have Reeve (I was confused at the beginning with the names of these two) another aggravating character who acted such a tool and he was such a major douchebag. Lastly we have Alex whom I didn’t dislike as much as the other two and he eventually proved himself to be a nice guy in the end.

Setting
Jar Island seems to be a pretty cool setting although I felt like that it had so many towns in it which made me slightly confused. I do think that travelling all over that town sounds pretty hectic, what with the ferry schedule and all. The scenery that these two authors created felt realistic enough that I wanted to go there and just chill out.

Story
As I mentioned earlier, the vengeance element of the book was nicely done and I quite enjoyed how everything unfolded. Although I did felt that some parts of it were totally cliche (like the plan they had for the homecoming dance and the relationship between Kat and Alex) and I truthfully expected their plans of revenge to be big and epic. Don’t get me wrong the things that they did were really cunning and fun to read about however I was so caught up with the premise of the book and I expected something colossal. Another thing that bothered me was the fact that it had a paranormal element to it that left me confused (Is this a witch/mutant book?). I am guessing that the second installment, Fire with Fire, will answer this question.

Rating:
All-in-all I give Burn for Burn a…

It had me yelling “Vengeance!” so I am taking it as a good thing.
Have you guys read Burn for Burn? What did you think of it? Please share your thoughts and/or book reviews by commenting down below!

Happy Reading,
Leave a Reply

