Fire with Fire (Burn for Burn #2) by Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian | Book Review + Discussion

Title: Fire with Fire
Author: Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian
Publication:  August 13th 2013 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Format: Paperback, Export Edition, 517 pages
Source: Personal Purchase from National Bookstore

Plot in a Nutshell:
When sweet revenge turns sour… Book two of a trilogy fromNew York Times bestselling author Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian.

Lillia, Kat, and Mary had the perfect plan. Work together in secret to take down the people who wronged them. But things didn’t exactly go the way they’d hoped at the Homecoming Dance.

Not even close.

For now, it looks like they got away with it. All they have to do is move on and pick up the pieces, forget there ever was a pact. But it’s not easy, not when Reeve is still a total jerk and Rennie’s meaner than she ever was before.

And then there’s sweet little Mary…she knows there’s something seriously wrong with her. If she can’t control her anger, she’s sure that someone will get hurt even worse than Reeve was. Mary understands now that it’s not just that Reeve bullied her—it’s that he made her love him.

Eye for an eye, tooth for a tooth, burn for a burn. A broken heart for a broken heart. The girls are up to the task. They’ll make Reeve fall in love with Lillia and then they will crush him. It’s the only way he’ll learn.

It seems once a fire is lit, the only thing you can do is let it burn…

-Synopsis from Goodreads

Thoughts in General:
This is what I felt right after I finished this book…

Okay let me gather myself. 
The book started off really slow for me and I felt like that it was dragging on certain parts. However it did eventually picked up speed but it still had a few kinks here and there. There were some characters (both major and minor) that really annoyed me and the plot line was sort of conventional however it all changed when the last few chapters came into play. The book would have been only a decent follow up if it wasn’t for the ending that just blew my mind! I seriously need Ashes to Ashes ASAP! 
Thoughts in Details (Contains Spoilers):
Fire With Fire was a really good sequel because of the twists and turns it had. The major plot line of this book was the girls coping up with what happened when Burn for Burn ended and eventually they wanted to plot another round of revenge on a certain QB. 
The girls were still true to how they were depicted in the first book. Kat was still a badass who was really looking forward to getting herself into Oberlin and out of Jar Island. Fire with Fire really explained how her mother died and gave a glimpse of her softer side. 

Lillia, on the other-hand, just made me confused. There were moments that I liked her and moments I wanted to shake her to wake her up. Her scenes with Reeve excited and annoyed me at times (especially near the end). I did sympathize with some of her decisions but come on why Lillia? Why?
Then we have Mary who was such a sweetheart and just a goody-goody. Don’t get me wrong, I still wanted to slap her so hard for being in love with Reeve but, like Lillia, I just couldn’t help but like her. However we learn something HUGE about her that just shook me to the core. Remember the question I asked on my review for Burn for Burn? I finally got the answer in Fire with Fire and I did not see it coming!!! I can’t still fathom it because I just assumed that this book was your typical contemporary novel but boy I was really wrong. I don’t know if it’s a good thing or a bad thing because I kind of felt mislead however I really did enjoy that twist (I know I am confusing). 
There were certain stuff that could have been cut out (like certain parties and romantic conflicts that didn’t go anywhere) and made the book a lot thinner. The story line of Lillia and Reeve was really predictable but the way Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian made the conflict was interesting (they made it difficult for me to like and hate Reeve).
I just want to discuss some of the major things that happened in this book which mostly revolves around the ending. So please don’t go here if you don’t want to be outright spoiled. 


I did not, for the life of me, expect that Rennie would die, ever! I just couldn’t wrap my head around it. Yes, I did hate her but still the way she was killed was so abrupt considering she had a big role throughout the books. Then Mary’s biggest reveal, she was a freaking ghost! Where the hell did that come from? I am just dumbfounded when she found herself on the cemetery and she saw her headstone. I was completely blindsided. 
Everything I initially thought about these books were proven wrong and that just made me love it!
Rating:
Burning with passion I give Fire with Fire a…
Seriously, I am just shocked and astounded. The feels…
Have you read Fire with Fire? What did you guys think of the twists? Please share your comments and thoughts down below!

Happy Reading,
Leave a Reply

