Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins | Book Review

Title: Anna and The French Kiss
Author: Stephanie Perkins
Publication: August 4th 2011 by Speak
Format: Paperback 372 pages
Source: Personal Purchase from National Bookstore

Plot in a Nutshell:

Can Anna find love in the City of Light?

Anna is happy in Atlanta. She has a loyal best friend and a crush on her coworker at the movie theater, who is just starting to return her affection. So she’s less than thrilled when her father decides to send her to a boarding school in Paris for her senior year. But despite not speaking a word of French, Anna meets some cool new people, including the handsome Étienne St. Clair, who quickly becomes her best friend. Unfortunately, he’s taken —and Anna might be, too. Will a year of romantic near misses end with the French kiss she’s waiting for?
-Synopsis from Goodreads
Thoughts in General:

I am not a fast-reader at all and I can count by hand the sum of books I’ve read in one day and I am glad to confess that Anna and The French Kiss belongs to that number. The story flowed very smoothly and it just grabbed my attention all the way. The characters were all unique and interesting enough that I just loved them all. The plot was really simple and predictable but it was still enjoyable to read. Stephanie Perkins really did a wonderful job at describing Paris in such a picturesque manner that made me wish I was there with the characters. 
Thoughts in Detail (Contains Spoilers):
Characters
Anna Oliphant (her surname is so quirky I love it) was such a really good narrator. The way she spoke and translated her opinions on the page just felt so believable, which made it easy for me to read it. She felt so alive in my head and that just proves that you don’t need very fancy prose to get a reader’s attention. Although, to be honest, I didn’t quite like Anna in the first few chapters because of how childish and ungrateful she sounded. Also there were moments in the latter part of the book when I felt that she wasn’t making all the best decisions in her life and I got really frustrated with her. However the way she developed throughout the book made me like her in the end. She becomes more independent and selfless which made me root for her. 
Then we have the apple of her eye, Etienne St. Clair. I got to hand it to him, he exuded charisma and charm throughout the book. I really do like his characterization but the thing is that I am not one hundred percent sold on him. He was funny, cool and I was really happy with how things turned out but I just couldn’t get over the fact that he made everything so complicated with Anna. I know that’s the whole point of this book but I still have some reservations towards this guy. I do admire his love for his mother and the lengths he gone through for Anna it was really good of him. 
Rashmi and her occasional dry humor just made me laugh so hard. Josh and Meredith didn’t stood out as much as Rashmi but they still added a lot to the book. Amanda was such a monster and her work as a minor villain was established. Toph was such a douche I hated him and although Bridgette did made mistakes I still quite enjoyed the friendship she had with Anna. Etienne’s Dad aggravated me so much I wanted to ran over him with an expensive BMW just for the irony of it. 
Stephanie Perkins has this way with her characters that made them realistic. Anna’s OCD and passion for films, Etienne’s nail-biting, Meredith’s multi-ringed fingers, Josh’s constant sketching and cramps, Rashmi’s straight-forwardness all of these minor and quirky details made all of the characters feel so real and was a major factor why I had fun with this book.
Setting
Paris, the famous City of Light and Love, was constructed by Stephanie Perkins in a way that made it even more romantic. The way she talked about the Latin Quarter, Notre Dame and the various patisseries made me want to jump on an airplane ASAP. I haven’t been to Paris but this book just intensified my hunger for it!
Story
The story was very familiar and predictable however the writing style was fantastic. One can’t deny the chemistry between Anna and Etienne. The way they interact with each other was so sweet and it made me smile. There were some somber moments and I really liked that because it added dimension to the story. It wasn’t all happy-rainbows-and-sunshine but it was still a feel good book that made me happy and giddy!
Rating:
Anna and The French Kiss deserves a…
A very well-paced book that just makes you feel warm inside.
Have you read Anna and The French Kiss? What are your thoughts about it? Did you enjoyed it? 

Happy Reading,
2 thoughts on “Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins | Book Review

Leave a Reply

