Coin Heist by Elisa Ludwig | ARC Book Review

Title: Coin Heist
Author: Elisa Ludwig
Publication: June 10th 2014 by Adaptive Studios
Format: e-ARC, 225 pages
Source: NetGalley
Plot in a Nutshell:

The last place you’d expect to find a team of criminals is at a prestigious Philadelphia prep school. But on a class trip to the U.S. Mint – which prints a million new coins every 30 minutes – an overlooked security flaw becomes far too tempting for a small group of students to ignore.

United by dire circumstances, these unlikely allies – the slacker, the nerd, the athlete, and the “perfect” student – band together to attempt the impossible: rob the U.S. Mint. The diverse crew is forced to confront their true beliefs about each other and themselves as they do the wrong thing for the right reasons.

Elisa Ludwig’s Coin Heist is a fun, suspenseful, and compelling thriller, told from the revolving perspectives of four teens, each with their own motive for committing a crime that could change all of their lives for the better—if they can pull it off.

Synopsis from Goodreads


Thoughts in General:
This is actually the first book I got approved on NetGalley and I am so glad I followed my gut! I had so much fun reading Coin Heist by Elisa Ludwig that I actually finished it in one day (that’s a big thing for me). The story of this book just grabbed my attention from the very first sentence. The wonderful cast of characters and their unique voices was so addicting that I had to read and finish it. The plot was familiar yet I found myself loving every moment of it. This book was such an amazing read!
Thoughts in Details:
Characters
Coin Heist centers on the First Person POVs of four totally different teenagers and I completely love them all. If I were to give the reason why I enjoyed this book, it is all due to the main characters.
We have Alice, the math magician and technology extraordinaire. From the get-go you know that she is very smart. The way she compared things to mathematical equations was an interesting quirk which made her real for me. She was also very straight-forward, brave yet there was still this vulnerability in her that I feel that a lot of people could relate to.
Then there’s Jason, the rebel. Out of all the four main characters, he was the one I wasn’t that fond of. I still liked him but the thing that bothered me about him was his trait of not taking certain issues seriously and how he handles sticky situations. Although I really get how messed up his life has gotten and I am happy and satisfied with his overall character development.
Dakota, the over-achieving princess, is probably my favourite among the four because of how she was depicted. I actually didn’t like her at first because of how prissy she was, but when I got the chance to know her story and what she was going through, my perspective suddenly shifted.
Benny, the athlete, is the surprising one for me. I had some initial assumptions on how his character was going to be played out, but that got shot on the face immediately when I read his parts. I am glad that his character represented something that is sometimes lost in many YA novels. I liked his motivations and his ideals in life.
Elisa Ludwig should be applauded for her ability to craft such captivating characters. They are the reason why I kept on turning the pages and why I got so hooked on this book. Their voices were all so distinct and their experiences were very authentic that I just couldn’t help but cheer them on (even though what they were doing was bad).
Setting
Coin Heist’s main setting was Haverford Friends (the school that they all attend) and Philadelphia. Although there weren’t many descriptive details about the setting, I was still amazed on how well researched the facts that she presented in this book. Going into this book I had no idea about mints or how the American coin manufacturing system worked, but the way she wrote those factoids in her book didn’t feel like info-dumping at all.
Story
It is said that Coin Heist is a mash-up of The Breakfast Club and Ocean’s Eleven and I exactly got that vibe and more. The whole heist plot of this book was exhilarating and I enjoyed learning how these teenagers were about to pull off such a herculean task. I felt like I was watching a really good movie in my head. The way everything flowed was on point and I enjoyed every twist and turn this book offered. The internal conflicts the characters had just added a valuable layer to this book which made it immensely enjoyable.
        
Rating:
I obviously give Coin Heist a…

Completely addicting and fun! You should definitely pick this one up!
P.S. I wish it had an epilogue because I want more!
This book will be published as an on June 10, 2014! Hope you get it soon, so we can discuss it!
Happy Reading,

4 thoughts on “Coin Heist by Elisa Ludwig | ARC Book Review

  1. It was such a pleasant surprise! I didn't know what I was expecting when I read this book but I never thought that I will like it this much. I am even tempted to buy a physical copy of it. Hehehe… Thanks for visiting my blog. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

