Male Authors I Want To Read More From


As you might have seen already on my blog, I have read (and loved) quite a number of female authors in my life. My bookshelf is bombarded with the great works of Jane Austen, Edith Wharton, Sophie Kinsella, Rainbow Rowell, Melissa de la Cruz, Cassandra Clare, and many more delightful and incredibly talented ladies. However, as I further evaluate my shelves, I came to a realization…

I do not have that many male authors included on it.

I just want to point out the painfully obvious truth. Rick Riordan, Ransom Riggs and Scott Westerfeld’s works are prominent on my bookshelves and I have one book by John Green, Alex Gilvarry and Alexander McCall Smith but aside from that, I have nothing. The lack of testosterone (yes, I said it) is, quite frankly, disconcerting because a) I am a guy and b) I have been too attached to female-centric contemporary romance genre. So for today’s Random Listings I want to share with you guys the male authors, whose works I want to fully immerse myself into. Here they are…

1) Neil Gaiman

I have been seeing his works in the bookstores but I haven’t paid that much attention to it. Ever since I saw his books on Booktube videos, I suddenly have the interest to read the blurbs (the hype did it again). I never realized his books were whimsical and eerie, until I heard people talking about it. The books I want to read from him are American Gods, The Ocean at the End of the Lane, The Graveyard Book, and Stardust.

2) David Levithan

Again, I have seen his books around the blogging and Booktube community. I hear that his writing style is really good and that the themes of his books are well thought out. I want to read Will Grayson Will Grayson  (co-authored with John Green), Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist (co-authored with Rachel Cohn), Invisibility (co-authored with Andrea Cremer) The Lover’s Dictionary, Everyday, and The Realm of Possibility.     

3) Brandon Sanderson

His epic fantasies just piqued my interest and everyone is raving about him, which intensified my urge to read his books. Steelheart, The Rithmatist and the Mistborn Trilogy are just some of the books he wrote that I want to read.

4) Patrick Ness

I think that this guy is really prominent in the YA book blogging scene and I hear that his books are all good. I am particularly interested in reading More Than This, A Monster Calls and his Chaos Walking series.

5) Markus Zusak

I know that most of his works are emotional roller-coasters and I am okay with that. I want to read The Book Thief and I am the Messengerby him.

6) Rick Yancey

You might have seen his book, The 5th Wave, on one of my Wishlist Wednesday post and I really want to start that series by him.  

7) Andrew Smith

He is the famous author of Winger, which is hyped by a lot of book bloggers and Booktubers and I want to jump on that bandwagon (#SorryNotSorry).

8) Stephen King

He is the King (sorry for the pun) of Horror, so yeah I want to try reading his books particularly The Shining, Doctor Sleep, Carrie, and Firestarter

I will forever love literature written by fantastic female authors, but I certainly would like to step out of that convention and read more books by male authors.
(Note: I might have forgotten a lot of names on this list or I am just not that interested in their books yet to include them in here).

Who are your fave male authors? Can you recommend some to me (preferably YA authors)? Please share your thoughts by commenting down below!

Happy Reading,
6 thoughts on “Male Authors I Want To Read More From

  1. Hi Kevin,

    I also noticed there are hardly any male YA authors, for some reason. I recently read Crossing by Andrew Xia Fukuda which is about a Chinese guy whose family immigrated to America. It's kind of a crime/mystery YA, but it's also about racism and coming-of-age. Another YA book by a male author is Sophie's World by Jostein Gaarder, which is kind of like an introduction to philosophy. The only other male YA author I can think of is Marcus Sedgwick, but I'm sure there are plenty more.

    Cool post, and interesting blog 🙂

    Like

  2. I ADORED the Chaos Walking series. There are three books in the series, and each one got exponentially better. It's the kind of series I thought about DAYS after I was done with it.
    I featured this post on our facebook page! I just so happened to be asking about how gender effects someone's desire to read a book just before I found this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

