Landline by Rainbow Rowell | Book Review

Title: Landline
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Publication: Published July 8th 2014 by St. Martin’s Press
Format: Hardcover, 310 pages
Source: Personal Purchase

Plot in a Nutshell:
Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble. That it’s been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and Neal still loves her, deeply — but that almost seems besides the point now.

Maybe that was always besides the point.

Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells Neal that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows that Neal will be upset with her — Neal is always a little upset with Georgie — but she doesn’t expect to him to pack up the kids and go home without her.

When her husband and the kids leave for the airport, Georgie wonders if she’s finally done it. If she’s ruined everything.

That night, Georgie discovers a way to communicate with Neal in the past. It’s not time travel, not exactly, but she feels like she’s been given an opportunity to fix her marriage before it starts . . .

Is that what she’s supposed to do?

Or would Georgie and Neal be better off if their marriage never happened?

-Synopsis from Goodreads

Thoughts in General:
Is it just me or does Rainbow Rowell have magic powers, because I feel like I haven’t been bored by any of her books at all. Seriously, this woman has some strange voodoo going on and I want to learn her tricks! With all the kidding and gushing aside, Landline (Rainbow Rowell’s latest Adult novel) was just amazing. I just fell in love with the characters from the very first sentence (as I normally do when it comes to her books). Don’t get me wrong, the main character is flawed and had made some huge mistakes. However, I never stopped rooting for her. The plot is by far the quirkiest among all of Miss Rowell’s novels because it involved some magical realism, which was a really nice touch. The thing that just won me over was the down-to-earth qualities her characters had and the way she build up the romance between Georgie and Neal. I am proud to say that I actually gushed during the early stages of their relationship. This book read like a wonderful, heart-warming movie and I am just really happy with how everything unfolded. 

Thoughts in Detail (CONTAINS SPOILERS):

~DO NOT CROSS THIS THRESHOLD, IF YOU HAVE NOT READ/FINISHED THIS BOOK! YOU WILL BE SPOILED! YOU’VE BEEN WARNED!~

Characters
The book is written on a Third Person POV mainly from the perspective of our heroine Georgie McCool (awesome name, if I say so myself). 
Georgie is a workaholic mom of two and the wife of Neal. She’s a comedy writer who just landed a major deal for her dream project, but she had to sacrifice her Christmas vacation with her husband and kids for that dream. At the very beginning of the novel, Georgie’s decision of staying for work during the holidays really had some serious repercussions. I get that she’s going to be living out her (and Seth‘s) dreams, but I think that it isn’t something you should exchange for your family. Then when the magic phone rolled in and we get to a lot of flashbacks during her college years, I was just engrossed at how her life came to be. This is when I finally started to love her character. If I were in that position (having a magic phone that could travel through time) I will be handling it much worse than she did. But she dealt it with the right amount of skepticism and courage. She was just written realistically and I felt her pain, happiness and love through the words of Rainbow Rowell. I love her younger self’s spunk and drive, which was magnetic and charming. Although, there were moments that her neediness towards the phone was just too much, I still think that Georgie is my second favorite Rowell character (Lincoln is still my number one). 
Neal, Georgie’s husband, is just the best dad and spouse. Seriously, as I read the parts about there marriage and I learned his sacrifices, I was just deeply impressed with him. His younger self was much more suave and reserved, but I couldn’t help but feel giddy when he and Georgie interacted. When I learned what he did during the Halloween party I did feel iffy about him, but by the end of the book I was still sold on him being Georgie’s love. He is meant to be with Georgie (even though he doesn’t believe in destiny). 
The minor characters were also well written and I am just amazed at how Rainbow Rowell create these side characters with zing.  
Seth, Georgie’s guy best friend, aggravated me so much. He’s so controlling and very needy. I didn’t like him at all and I felt his clinginess just made me dislike him. I have got to hand it to him, he is funny and really sassy. 
Heather, Georgie’s half-sister, is a firecracker. I love her energy and sarcasm. Being younger than Georgie, she approaches stuff in an irrational and childish manner that reminded me of my attitude when I am with my own sister. I also love that twist in her characterization and I am happy for her. 
Georgie’s mother is such a vixen or, should I say, cougar. However, she’s still a caring mother even if she isn’t a prevalent entity in the entire novel.
Alice and Noomi, Georgie’s two daughters, are so adorable and I love them! Noomi is my favorite because of her affinity with cats (which is weird because I am not a cat person, at all) and I always imagine her as this cute doll of a girl. She’s just a charming little kid! 
Story
Landline’s over-all story arc is really entertaining and beautifully done. From the couples marriage problems to the inclusion of a (as Georgie would put it) “magic fucking phone“, it still ran smoothly and coherently. The build up of emotions from the flashbacks of Georgie and Neal’s budding relationship is spectacularly embarrassing (my hopeless romantic self was overly giddy and bubbly inside), but it still made my day (or rather week). The plot is not complex and this book proves that you don’t need sharp twists and turns to have a fantastic outcome. As I said earlier Rainbow Rowell’s magic fingers could type up a story that is based off of a simple plot and she could turn into something gorgeous and wonderful. 

Rating:
There’s no surprise that I give Landline a…

What more could I say?
Have you read Landline? What did you think of it? Did you like it or not? Why? Please do share your insights by commenting down below!

Happy Reading,
3 thoughts on “Landline by Rainbow Rowell | Book Review

  1. Oh my gosh I can't WAIT to read this! This was on one of my last WoW's, so I can't believe I completely missed that it's out now. Thanks so much for the reminder! This will be my first Rainbow Rowell book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

