July 2014 Wrap-Up

Whoa! Did July really passed by fast or was it just me? Seriously, I am really bothered by how time is speeding up these days. The year is almost over already (wow, melodramatic much?). Anyway, I decided to write my wrap-up instead of giving it the Booktube treatment because a) I’m lazy, b) editing a video is seriously a royal pain in the butt, and c) did I mention I am lazy?

I am really happy with the number of books I read this month! ELEVEN books!

Boo-yah!

So at the beginning of the month, I finished the sequels to The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han

I already wrote a review for It’s Not Summer Without You and We’ll Always Have Summer, so if you want to know more about what I thought of these books definitely click the links above.

Then I read Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac by Gabrielle Zevin. I have heard mixed things about this book so I didn’t have huge expectations. However, I was pleasantly surprise by it and I am glad that i picked it up. A full review will be coming soon.

So by this time, the #BooktubeAThon 2014 began. I already talked about my feelings regarding these books in my Booktube-A-Thon Wrap Up, but if you are not interested in watching that here’s a quick run down:

I first read books fourteenth and fifteenth of the Pretty Little Liars series by Sara Shepard. I enjoyed Deadly more than Toxic because I felt that the plot got insanely interesting. Everything that I feared happened in this book and Toxic failed to deliver the same amount of craziness the prior book had.

Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler is the most disappointing book I’ve ever read this year. I am just completely annoyed with the main character and the story wasn’t as emotionally gripping as I thought it would be. The writing style was poorly executed and some of the things just didn’t made coherent sense.

The next book I read was Nancy’s Mysterious Letter by Carolyn Keene, which is the eight book in the Nancy Drew classic series. It has been a couple of years since I last read about Nancy’s adventures. This book brought back so many good memories. It reminded me how easy, fun, and thrilling it is to read a Nancy Drew book

The last book I read during the whole Booktube-A-Thon was Proxy by Alex London and I proceeded with the sequel Guardian after the readathon. I won’t be talking about these books here because I will do a full review soon.

This is probably the highlight of my month because Rainbow Rowell’s latest book, Landline, has finally landed on my arms and of course I devoured it as soon as possible. Just click on the title of the book and it will direct you to my book review or should I say RAVE-iew.

I technically finished a smidgen of this book in August that is why I will count it here. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead was really good and incredibly entertaining. The book’s main character Rose really won me over and I am excited to continue with the series.

These are the books I finished in the month of July and I am really proud of this stack!

How was your July? Did you read a lot of books? What were they? Please do share your thoughts by commenting down below!

Happy Reading,

Leave a Reply

