Mockingjay (The Hunger Games #3) by Suzanne Collins | Book Review + Discussion

Title: Mockingjay
Author: Suzanne Collins
Publication: Published August 24th 2010 by Scholastic Press
Format:  Hardcover, First Edition, 400 pages
Source: Personal Purchase


Plot in a Nutshell:

My name is Katniss Everdeen.
Why am I not dead?
I should be dead.

Katniss Everdeen, girl on fire, has survived, even though her home has been destroyed. Gale has escaped. Katniss’s family is safe. Peeta has been captured by the Capitol. District 13 really does exist. There are rebels. There are new leaders. A revolution is unfolding.

It is by design that Katniss was rescued from the arena in the cruel and haunting Quarter Quell, and it is by design that she has long been part of the revolution without knowing it. District 13 has come out of the shadows and is plotting to overthrow the Capitol. Everyone, it seems, has had a hand in the carefully laid plans–except Katniss.

The success of the rebellion hinges on Katniss’s willingness to be a pawn, to accept responsibility for countless lives, and to change the course of the future of Panem. To do this, she must put aside her feelings of anger and distrust. She must become the rebels’ Mockingjay–no matter what the personal cost.

-Synopsis from Goodreads
Thoughts in General: 

Mockingjay is the last book in The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins and, in my opinion, it did not disappoint. I do know that a lot of people weren’t satisfied with this book, but personally I feel like it was a perfect ending for the series. Don’t get me wrong I do have a few minor issues, but overall I just felt like it presented the characters as authentic human beings who have limits The flaws and weaknesses of the characters really showed within the pages of this novel, and that is what I love about it. The plot was intense and incredibly gripping. When the adrenaline pumping scenes kicked in, everything just went nuts. This is tied with Catching Fire for my favorite among the trilogy because of the reasons I stated above. 
Thoughts in Detail (CONTAINS SPOILERS):

~DO NOT CROSS THIS THRESHOLD, IF YOU HAVE NOT READ/FINISHED THIS BOOK! YOU WILL BE SPOILED! YOU’VE BEEN WARNED!


Mockingjay was such an emotional roller-coaster! Seriously, the emotions that I had was just overwhelming. It made me laugh at certain scenes, but majority of the book I felt this undeniable sadness. If you’re looking for a happy book then this is not for you (well I think I am the only human being who’s late in The Hunger Games bandwagon, except for newborns).

The book focused on the emotional and mental state of the characters. The psychological repercussions of the civil war within Panem and the Quarter Quell left a stain on the mental health of Katniss, Peeta and Finnick. I have never seen Katniss be as vulnerable as she was in this book. I really felt bad for her because of the things that she went through. The Quarter Quell and the tragedy that struck District 12 seriously changed and wounded her in a deep way. I have to be honest with you, Katniss was on morphine (or that drug they use, I am not sure what the thing was called) that sedated her because of how intense she acted. Weirdly enough I liked this because it really does show that Katniss is only human and had limitations. This form of humanization for the main character made her even more authentic and compelling to read about. Some might view it as a weakness, but for me it just made Katniss even stronger.

Then we also have Peeta. Oh poor Peeta. The things he went through was just horrifying and I really felt sorry for him. The Capitol’s hijacking was just shocking and heartbreaking. The scene where he first saw Katniss, after being rescued from the Capitol was just… I felt All. The. Feels. I also liked how he was self-sacrificing during the scenes with the throw-down between the Capitol and District 13. I know that some people found that cheesy or corny, but for me I felt that sincerity of the character. I saw the battle between the Old Peeta and the Hijacked Peeta which added a certain depth to his character.

Gale was so annoying in this book. He became too violent and aggressive. Even though I kind of understood where he came from, his solutions and the things he suggested was just too nefarious. This book really made me dislike him. And by the ending of the book he felt like a nonentity and I didn’t like that. I was kind of confused if his and Katniss’ friendship was over at that point. Maybe it was left like that for interpretation and in my opinion I guessed they weren’t best of friends anymore.

The standout star in Mockingjay was probably Finnick. Even though he wasn’t always present, whenever he’s in the scene he made it even better. A case in point is the scene where he wanted to join Katniss and her crew in the expedition to District 8. The way he handled himself in that scene was just hilarious! I genuinely laughed out loud and I did not expect that to happen. The most heartwarming scene in the entire book was probably his marriage to Annie (his one true love). I was giddy when I found out they were getting married! Then when it came to the marriage itself I was downright ecstatic. This is the scene where Katniss recognized that the cake was baked by Peeta, which was such an “AWWW…” moment for me. That is why when Finnick got killed in the war I was pissed off. I felt that it was such a pointless death. I just didn’t see why he needed to be killed. 

Johanna surprised me. In Catching Fire, I liked her spunk but she came off annoying. Maybe it was the fact that she made fun of Katniss that really rubbed me the wrong way, however, Johanna proved to be a really good ally in Mockingjay. I enjoyed the parts where she and Katniss bonded over the training sessions. It was another one of those few sentimental moments sprinkled throughout the book. I felt bad for her when she had that mental breakdown during the last training test, you know with the water. So when she asked Katniss to kill Snow, I felt this authentic moment between the two characters that I haven’t seen before.

Betee was impressive and really ingenious. The way he could tap into the server of Capitol’s broadcast feed was amazing and I liked the ideas of the propos. He also designed Katniss’ weapons (which I still couldn’t figure out what was so special about it) and also Gale’s trap-making partner. Aside from that he didn’t made a huge impression on me.

Prim. Oh my dear Prim. Where do I begin? Okay, so I really saw the maturity of her character in this book. I saw the potential she had of being one of the noblest character in the entire trilogy. Her passion for medicine was apparent and I cheered her on when she helped the people of District 13 get better and the scene where she had to save Buttercup (the cat) was so nice. THE THING that pissed me off is her death! I know that it added a certain depth into the character arc of Katniss and she was just collateral damage, but still… WHY HER??? Anyway, I was spoiled on this part, so it didn’t had the same effect on me compared to those who wasn’t spoiled. Even though it was an act of senselessness, I still saw her death as a noble one. She tried saving those kids at the courtyard and I felt that she didn’t die in vain.

President Coin was just a total bitch (pardon me for the language)! I just didn’t like her from the get-go and when Boggs told Katniss to not trust her, that confirmed it for me. I don’t know about you, but I believed what Snow told Katniss about the true mastermind behind Prim’s death. I knew that it was Coin’s way of taking revenge on Katniss’ disobedience. That’s why when Katniss shot her instead of Snow I was shocked and happy at the same time.

President Snow deserved everything he got and more! Enough said.

The other characters were nice, but to be perfectly honest, not that memorable. Cressida and her camera crew were okay, but they didn’t stood out to me. Haymitch was still the same (still not the biggest fan of him) and Plutarch annoyed me with his sadistic optimism (he enjoyed the suffering of people way too much).

The plot of the book was rich and complex. The focus on the characters mentality was a really great way to end the series, since the first two books focused on the physical strengths of Katniss and her crew.

Let me just say that the epilogue was great. I am happy how this book ended and I will end this long review with that thought.

Rating:
I give Mockingjay a…

It was a great ending to the trilogy. 
What are your thoughts regarding Mockingjay? Did you like it or not? Tell me your reasons by commenting down below.

Happy Reading,
Leave a Reply

