2015 Bookish Resolutions

2014 has been a really good year for me in terms of reading! I actually read 93 books in total and I actually surpassed my Goodreads goal of reading 50 books! Also I managed to accomplish some of my bookish resolutions. Here it is in a nutshell:

  • Dystopia 2014 Reading Challenge – Accomplished (I read The Hunger Games, Divergent, Legend, Champion, Under The Never Sky trilogies, the Uglies series and the Proxy duology).
  • Re-reading old faves – I still managed to re-read The Night Circus and Confessions of a Shopaholic.
  • Classical Reading – I did not read any classic literature in 2014. FAILED. 
  • Join more Read-A-Thons – I actually participated in the Bout of Books and Booktube-A-Thon this year so I successfully accomplished that resolution.
  • Write More Fiction – On this front, I kind of succeeded. I only started and revamped my Wattpad story Arrogance and Apples last year. However, I haven’t continued on with the story thus the “kind of succeeded.”
  • Becoming a Booktuber – Accomplished (visit my Booktube Channel, if you want to see it for yourself). 
  • Balancing blogging and my other passions – I succeeded in the first two quarters of the year, however my progress declined as my interest in blogging got hazy. I wasn’t as excited to write because of the unnecessary pressure I placed on myself, that is why I took a few months off from blogging so I could gain back my groove. 
I am happy with the outcome of those resolutions, now let’s move on to my 2015 Bookish Resolutions:

Resolution #1:
I think it is the norm within the book blogging/Booktubing realms for a person to have a To Be Read (or better known as the TBR) pile. There are those admirable book-lions that are really wise when it comes to book buying. I used to be that kind of person, however as I discovered Booktube and when I really immersed myself in the book blogging world, my book buying habits changed drastically. I am not, by any means, blaming these awesome communities. I just want to stress how significantly effective these platforms are in advertising/promoting novels (they make me buy books on a crazy level). 
Due to certain personal reasons, I have come to the decision that I won’t and should not be buying books on that same level of enthusiasm. This year I will join in the #ProjectFiveBooks and #0by16 hops to help me lower down my book buying and to stop the growth of my TBR pile.
Basically, I got the concept from Sanaa at InkBonesBooks on Youtube. If you want to know more about these bookish hashtags here’s her video:

The concepts she presented just resonated with me and I am confident that I will be able to accomplish these two hops in 2015.

Resolution #2:
2014 was honestly a year wherein I was obsessed with buying Hardcover editions of books. I don’t know what happened to me, but I wasn’t always like this. I turned into this snobbish monster that would look at a trade paperback with disdain! Even as I am writing this right now, I could not help but hate myself. This year I hope to appreciate the glory of the paperback. I am not 100% going to stop buying hardcovers, but I will definitely take into considerations the perks of its cheaper and handier version.

Resolution #3:

Truthfully, I am a traditional reader. I really do prefer reading physical books rather than its electronic counterpart. However, since I no longer have the financial capabilities to always buy physical books (which are quite expensive) I decided to try my hands on e-books. Aside from it being affordable, I could actually read it on my phone even when I am at work (Sshhh…)!   

Resolution #4:

In my years of being an avid reader, I could only count the number of graphic novels I have ever read. Yes I am a big fan of Archie and Zatanna comics and that is the closest thing I’ve read in terms of graphic novels. That is why this year, I would really like to read more from this type of literature. Here are some of the graphic novels I want to start in 2015:

Images Courtesy of Goodreads

Resolution #5:
Young Adult has always been my age group of choice when it came to novels. I just love the perspective of teenagers and how they handle the things that they go through (I consider myself an eternal teenager). However, I do have a special place in my heart for Adult Literature and this year I would like to rekindle my love for it. Here are some of the books I want to sink my teeth into:
Images Courtesy of Goodreads
Resolution #6:

On that tangent, I won’t be giving up my love of YA this year (Are you crazy?). I have not yet fully completed my goal of reading the Booktube staples (these are books I have seen on multiple booktube channels and are extremely popular within the community). Here are the series that I want to complete this year:

Images Courtesy of Goodreads
(Note: I already read the first books in the Vampire Academy series and Grisha trilogy)

Resolution #7:

Lastly, I want to read in a relaxed pace. In the past months, I was just stuck on this reading slump that took a toll in my self confidence. I was afraid of losing the appreciation of the people who follow my blog, Youtube channel, and Instagram account if I don’t read a lot. However, I came to the realization that I was no longer doing all of these bookish things for fun. I became too conscious of what other people are thinking, which is just wrong. This year I will no longer treat all of my bookish social media accounts as a job. Instead, I will return it to its original purpose of being my venue for my passions and focus on my love of reading. 
I am hopeful that I will succeed in these resolutions (particularly in the book buying and lowering down my TBR department). I am going to make 2015 one of the greatest years of my life! 
What are your 2015 bookish resolutions (or even not bookish ones)? Share them by commenting down below!


Leave a Reply

