Vivian Divine Is Dead by Lauren Sabel | Book Review

Title: Viviane Divine is Dead
Author: Lauren Sabel
Publication: June 3rd 2014 Katherine Tegen Books
Format: Hardcover, 288 pages

(Disclaimer: This book was given to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Plot in a Nutshell:
Filled with surprising twists and poignant moments, Lauren Sabel brings a fresh new voice to contemporary fiction with Vivian Divine Is Dead. Creepy, clever, funny, and romantic.

When a death threat arrives with teen celebrity Vivian Divine’s fan mail, Vivian has no choice but to go on the run to Mexico. She soon discovers, though, that her Oscar-nominated performance killing villains on-screen did nothing to prepare her for escaping a madman in real life. Some people say he’s a hero, others tremble in his presence, but one thing is clear: he won’t stop until Vivian is in his grasp. Why didn’t she pay more attention during those judo lessons for her role in Zombie Killer?

Vivian finds an ally in the mysterious and charming Nick. He is everything Hollywood boys are not-genuine, kind, and determined to see Vivian for who she really is. But even he seems like he can’t be trusted-what could he be hiding?

Beat up, hungry, and more confused than ever about who she’s running from, Vivian is living in a real-life blockbuster horror flick. But there’s no option to yell “cut” like there is on set….

Lauren Sabel’s Vivian Divine Is Dead is a creepy, witty, fast-paced adventure about family, fame, and having the courage to save yourself.

-Synopsis from Goodreads

Thoughts in General:

Truth be told, I wasn’t really aware of the presence of Vivian Divine Is Dead by Lauren Sabel until I was contacted by the author regarding a contest she hosted for her novel on her Instagram page back in late October 2014. As stated in my disclaimer, I was sent this book so I could write or vlog my honest thoughts about it and I will do just that. I did enjoy the plot and the setting was fascinating enough. The characters were well-written and some of the dialogue between them were witty and entertaining. However, I felt that the book didn’t wow me as much as I wanted it to. I am still duly impressed with the writing capabilities of Lauren Sabel and it is still a book you should try for yourself.  
Thoughts in Detail:

~DO NOT CROSS THIS THRESHOLD, IF YOU HAVE NOT READ/FINISHED THIS BOOK! YOU WILL BE SPOILED! YOU’VE BEEN WARNED!~

Vivian Divine Is Dead was interesting. I honestly did not read the synopsis for this book because lately I wanted to have an immersive reading experience without being spoiled by the synopsis (which can sometimes ruin the whole thing, just saying). At first, I thought that the novel will have paranormal aspects to it since it talked about The Day of the Dead. I am happy that it didn’t have any and it was refreshing to read a good old thriller novel, but in a YA format. 
The main character Vivian Divine was both endearing and annoying in the course of the entire novel. Her experience with her mother’s death, showed a deeper emotional side to the young starlet. I liked how her stream of thought reflected her emotional state, but this is a double-edged sword because there were moments in the novel that made her childish and infuriating. I did not feel connected to her because I felt that her voice just did not meld well with my tastes. 
The plot was filled with dramatic twists and turns. I anticipated some of them, but there were revelations that still caught me off guard. The foreshadowing in the novel was done really well and I hope I could emulate that in my own writing. I just wished that there were things in the story that were pushed to the extreme. I felt like it needed more kick than it had, but I am still happy with what I got out of the novel. 
The romance in the book was one of the things that kind irked me. Maybe the fact that I am a guy, but with the genre that this book I assumed it is in, I just wished that there wasn’t such a huge deal regarding Nick and Vivian’s relationship. In my opinion, the subplot of the love story is not pivotal to the appeal of the novel and I wasn’t 100% into it. 
I enjoy the Mexican traditions the author added especially the references for The Day of the Dead (which is a fascinating holiday, in my opinion). It added a layer of authenticity in the book that I appreciated. 
Rating:
In my opinion, Vivian Divine Is Dead…

Actual Star Rating: 3.5 Stars
It was enjoyable, but I was hoping for more zing and flair. 
I would like to extend my gratitude towards the author Lauren Sabel, as well as, Bekah and Nikki of Method Agency for contacting me and sending me a copy of the book! You guys are awesome!
Have you read Vivian Divine Is Dead? What are your thoughts regarding the book? Don’t hesitate to comment down below and tell me what you think.
Leave a Reply

