Only A Kiss by Ines Bautista-Yao | Mini Book Review

Title: Only A Kiss
Author: Ines Bautista-Yao
Publication: November 29th 2014 by Chamber Shell Publishing
Format: Paperback, 141 pages

(Disclaimer: I won this book in a giveaway. This fact did not affect any of my opinions regarding the book.) 

Plot in a Nutshell:

When she was nine-years-old, Katie knew she wanted Chris to give her her first kiss. It wasn’t because she was in love with him (no way, he was her best friend! Besides, she was in love with his fourteen-year-old big brother), it was because she could make him do anything she wanted. 

Besides, it didn’t really mean anything. It was only a kiss after all. 

But then things started to change. They grew up. They parted ways and went to different high schools. And other girls and boys—well, just one particular boy—came into the picture, throwing their lives upside down. 

Told from the alternating points of view of Katie and Chris, this love story between two best friends will tug at your heartstrings and leave you thinking how the simplest things can mean so much.
-Synopsis from Goodreads


Thoughts in General:


You all know that I really love a good contemporary romance and Only A Kiss is a book that satisfied my inner hopeless romantic. The book mainly follow Katie and Chris, who are best buds since they were little and it tells the story of how they slowly grow up and trudges the territory of friendships, first loves, and romance. The author managed to capture both of their perspectives into a 141 page novel with sincerity and lightness.  
The coming-of-age style the author used was a great way to introduce this simplistic story. Even though the tropes and the plot twists were predictable, I still cared about where the story went and I wanted to find out how the characters will react to certain situations. I did find some knots in the plot easily resolved, but I guess that was part of the charm of the novel. It wasn’t overly complicated and heavy, which I was expecting in the first place. 
I did find one of the main characters, namely Katie, quite annoying. She was such a bossy pants to Chris and I wasn’t 100% charmed by her at the beginning of the novel. Eventually my annoyance towards her lessened as the story progressed, but until now I still have reservations towards her. 
Chris is my favorite! You don’t normally get to see the perspective of a guy in these types of stories and I was happy that author didn’t fold into that convention. I related to him the most and everything he went through felt real and honest. 
Both of the MCs had their distinct voices and I never encountered a problem with mixing up any of the characters, which is a really good point for any book. 
Only A Kiss is a book I will highly recommend to those who want to venture into the Philippine Literary scene. It’s practical prose and familiar tropes will enlighten your own inner hopeless romantic.     
P.S. The cover of the book was just incredible and the chapter illustrations were gorgeous! Great job book designers!
Rating:
I give Only A Kiss a…
It’s such a feel good book that you should definitely pick up!
Have you read Only A Kiss? What are your thoughts regarding it? Feel free to comment down below or link your post so I could read your own review!

Thank you very much to Dianne at Oops I Read A Book Again and also the wonderful author Ines Bautista-Yao for creating the giveaway! You guys rock! 
Leave a Reply

