#ELockhartinPH: E. Lockhart Manila Book Signing Event Recap | Signed Adventure #12

March 22, 2015 – E. Lockhart graced Manila at National Bookstore’s flagship store and met up with all of her fans (including yours truly). (NOTE: You can skip ahead to the “Meeting E. Lockhart” portion if you want to.)
The Pre-Signing Sitch…
As usual I fell in line at around 9:00 AM and it was the most spectacular sight I have seen, there weren’t a lot of people in front of me (I compared this to the previous signing I have attended).
Anyway to pass the time, I whipped out my tablet and I started watching Kiki’s Delivery Service which is the result of my recent obsession with Hayao Miyazaki’s films. After a while we were finally let in and I got a number…
Not to shabby if you ask me.
While I was in line I started chatting up with a girl named Denise and she was really enthusiastic about the entire event. She hasn’t started We Were Liars and I urged her to read it as soon as possible because it was such a good book. I also met Rexy @reading_rexy on Instagram, but sadly we weren’t able to hang out that much during the event.
I parted with Denise for lunch and when I came back at the store, she met two equally fun girls named Danica and Diane (their names coincidentally started with a D) on the event. These girls made my waiting for the signing a whole lot more exciting and interesting. We discussed our own theories regarding We Were Liars and we just talked about bookish things, which was awesome! This is why I really love book signings, it widens my circle of bookish acquaintances.
Then I found out that Denice was actually real life friends with Justine from @trickycard on Instagram (whom I’ve interacted with numerous times) and they go to the same school. That was completely mind-boggling for me because of the coincidence of the situation.

This signing was more relaxed which was what I missed about past signings I’ve been to. People weren’t stepping on each other and there were a lot of leg room while I sat on the floor with my new found friends (the lack of seating accommodations still confuses me until now). 

I also briefly hangout with some of the #PHYABookBloggers who visited the public signing! I gave up on the pretense of being shy and I became like a total “feeling close” type. 
Photo Credit: Kai at Amaterasu Reads

Aside from these peeps, I was really happy to see some familiar faces such as Jerzon (@jerzon_d), Pam (@pamnbooks), Gavin (@silvermagic162), Inah (The Bibliophile Confessions) and Glenice (@g0711BD)

Meeting E. Lockhart

E. Lockhart was so energetic and I could feel like she’s a New Yorker by blood. She is such a spitfire and once again I was inspired to pursue my own writing through her sound and sage advice.

After waiting for almost two hours, my number was called and I got the chance to talk to her in person! I just mentioned how I love Fly On The Wall and We Were Liars (I know very inventive) and she responded with an “I am so glad you loved it” and a warm smile.

THANK YOU E. LOCKHART FOR CREATING SUCH WONDERFUL NOVELS AND FOR GIVING US THE CHANCE OF MEETING YOU IN PERSON!
THANK YOU TO NATIONAL BOOKSTORE FOR ALWAYS BRINGING AWESOME AUTHORS IN THE COUNTRY! YOU GUYS ARE THE BEST!
Did you attend the event? What were your experiences? Please don’t hesitate to share your thoughts and/or blog posts down below! I would love to read it!
2 thoughts on “#ELockhartinPH: E. Lockhart Manila Book Signing Event Recap | Signed Adventure #12

  1. Awesome experience! And I agree with you on the lack of chairs part. I absolutely do not get why after all the book signing that have happened there they still only have like, 50 chairs. -_- Are there any updates on who's going to visit next? 🙂

    Like

  2. I know right? I hope NBS fixes that in future events because we are all customers who paid money to get the books. The least we could have as a luxury is more available seats. Is that too much to ask? Speaking of, I have no idea who's the author coming in June. Hopefully we get to hear the news soon! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

