#CTCinPH: Christine Brae, Tarryn Fisher, and Colleen Hoover Manila Book Signing Recap

New Adult was a genre I never thought I’d get into, but that all changed when I read a book by Colleen Hoover, which was the result of the extensive marketing of National Bookstore regarding the book signing events they did. Truthfully I am really happy to have involved myself in the said genre because it was such an enlightening experience.

Pre-Signing Sitch

I really love meeting up with my bookish friends because I can finally let my bookishness out!
#SquadGoals
L-R: JM of Revelations of a Book Freak, Salve of Cuckoo for Books, and Justine of Bookwormaniac!
Hazel of Stay Bookish and us doing the signature JM pose (patent and trademark yet to be registered! LOL!)
Kai of Amaterasu Reads and Algel of Tea-rrific Reads and us all smiles after meeting the fab authors!

I was also able to meet JM (Book Freak Revelations) for the very first time. He is one of my co-creators of the Gossip Girl Book Tag and one of the good friends I made through the internet (whoever said that making friends online isn’t legit can screw themselves). He was so bubbly and totally true to his online personality! 

Q&A

The authors’ were all so inspiring and truly genuine. I love the bond between Tarryn Fisher and Colleen Hoover. Christine Brae was so elegant and some of the things she said spoke to my inner writer, especially the part in writing about what you love and not caring about the money and fame.


Meeting Christine Brae

I have to be honest, I wasn’t familiar with Christine and her books up until the said announcement of the signing events and after the Q&A, I was so pumped to start her books. I was really surprised to find out that she was actually a Filipino! I love meeting Filipino authors that made it big in the international publishing scene because they inspire and motivate me to work on my own fiction.

Then being a rambler and loud-mouth, I struck up a conversation with Christine. I asked her about being an EVP and how she manages to write while juggling her day job. She admitted that the juggle is tough, but she was just really passionate about being a fiction writer that the stress was worth it.

Then she gave me a piece of advice that was just unique and I haven’t heard of it before. If you watched the video above, Christine wrote her books while she commuted. So she uses her phone a lot, but the interesting tidbit here is that she records herself rather than typing her thoughts and ideas. I don’t know about you, but I have never thought of this idea before and my mind was utterly blown (which just speaks volumes of how unimaginative I am IRL)!

Meeting Tarryn Fisher

Tarryn Fisher was just a fierce lady! I love how she looked so tough and badass, which made me wish I had her confidence!

The thing we talked about revolved around her friendship with Colleen! I told her that the two of them were like Friendship-Goals-worthy. I also mentioned the fact that Colleen gave her this weird placenta scented candle with baby-shaped figures (I KNOW!!!) and Tarryn just laughed by the memory.

Meeting Colleen Hoover

Colleen was such a fun, sweet, and down-to-earth lady! I was really nervous when I met her and I couldn’t form any words.

Then when I did, I asked her about (wait for it) the weather. Yes, classic Kevin! Anyway, she said that it was pleasant. That’s it. I was so starstruck I couldn’t even think of anything to add to that conversation! *hides under a rock*

That’s it!!! After the event, I was so enamored by the prospect of self-publishing and I would highly thank these wonderful human beings for sharing their experiences with us.

I would also like to thank National Bookstore for giving us the opportunity to meet Christine, Tarryn and Colleen! You guys did it again! Bravo!

Did you attend #CTCinPH? What was your experience like? Please do comment down below and let’s start a discussion! 


2 thoughts on “#CTCinPH: Christine Brae, Tarryn Fisher, and Colleen Hoover Manila Book Signing Recap

  1. Lovely recap, Kevin! It was so great to see you and everyone else during the event. Totally feel you on feeling nervous around Colleen- I was the same! I'm just such a huge fan and it was so fabulous to meet her!

    Like

Leave a Reply

