Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1) by Leigh Bardugo | ARC Review

Title: Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1)
Author/s: Leigh Bardugo

Publication: September 29th 2015 by Henry Holt and Company

Format: ARC edition
Source: National Bookstore and Macmillan

(DISCLAIMER: THIS ARC WAS GIVEN TO ME BY THE PUBLISHER AND NATIONAL BOOKSTORE FOR FREE, IN EXCHANGE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW. THIS DID NOT AFFECT MY OPINIONS ON THE BOOK IN ANY WAY.)

Plot in a Nutshell:
Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.
Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.-Synopsis from Goodreads

Thoughts in General:
2015 is one rollercoaster ride in terms of my reading and I am really happy to say that Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo is part of the “up”. Let me just say that this book made me recall how much of an experience the art of reading is. This fantasy novel took me to the edge of my seat, transported me back into a setting that has been given a lot more depth, gave me characters that were fleshed out and had me caring for them non-stop. These are the elements of a good story and this book has it all and more. 
I was lucky enough to have been given an Advance Readers Copy of this book during Leigh Bardugo’s event here in the Philippines and OH MY GOD I NEED THE FINISHED EDITION IN HARDCOVER! The cover is beautiful and the design of it is really spot on with the overall feel of the novel (the crow sort of like embody these teenage outcasts and the towers represents the Ice Court). The main reason why I really want the finished hardback is because of the beautiful sprayed-on black pages, which I am dying to hold in reality. 

Enough about the cover lust and let’s get on with the review. As I mentioned earlier, Six of Crows is a story that is adrenaline pumping. The premise of six outcasts banding together to perform a deadly heist automatically gave me chills when I heard the author talk about it in person and I am happy to report that Leigh Bardugo definitely delivered. I will admit that the author’s first trilogy (The Grisha Trilogy) was good, but I encountered a few problem with Ruin and Rising, which is why I don’t consider it as one of my favorites. However, Six of Crows was able to top its predecessor by creating a much more exciting plot line while having an awesome blend of wit, romance, and camaraderie.

I’ve got to hand it to Leigh Bardugo for creating such kickass characters. Let’s start of with the leader of the crew, Kaz. He is this enigma in the entire story that you want to unveil and the author did her exposition in such a seamless way. Even though I found his arrogance and brand of self-righteousness annoying, it slowly grew on me and I think that these traits pretty much sums up what Kaz is all about.

Inej’s story arc is one of my personal favorites. The way that Leigh Bardugo wrote her tragic backstory tugged my heartstrings. Although I noticed that there were moments in the novel she was in a damsel-in-distress situation, however, I still got to see her in action and I definitely found her title as The Wraith incredible appropriate.

Then we have another awesome female character and is my favorite among the six, Nina!

She. Is. Fantastic!

Seriously I can’t stop gushing about her. She’s witty, headstrong, powerful, sassy, and ferociously independent. Basically she has every trait that I love in a female lead and I’m not ashamed to admit that I have this huge crush on her. I really can’t say much about the details (because of spoilers), but by the end of this book I LOVE her.

In terms of character growth I think Matthias’s arc is the most complex. At the beginning of the story I was totally apprehensive of him to a point that I distrusted him. This is due to the fact that I couldn’t measure his personality, but then I started to slowly cheer him on, then he slowly crawled under my skin, and I eventually came to accept him as part of the crew.

Jesper didn’t rub off of me the right way. I did not gravitate towards his chapters and I honestly wanted to skip his parts. I just didn’t mesh well with his personality (his arrogance was unwarranted unlike Kaz’). Although I do admit that he was the comic relief of the book and I particularly found his banters with Wylan amusing.

Speaking of Wylan, I just wished that I got to know him better but I am guessing he will play a larger role in the sequel and I’ll finally get some backstory (trust me your interest will be piqued as well).

I have seen the immense growth in Leigh Bardugo’s writing style within the pages of Six of Crows. She managed to create compelling characters and adrenaline pumping scenes while giving her characters so much depth. Frankly speaking Six of Crows kinda makes its predecessor look like child’s play.

Brava Miss Bardugo… Brava!

Have you read Six of Crows? What are your thoughts regarding it? Who are your favorite ships? Tell me down below!

Leave a Reply

