Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson | Book Review

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset Processed with Snapseed.

Title: Since You’ve Been Gone

Author/s: Morgan Matson

Publication: May 6th 2014 by Simon & Schuster

Format: Hardcover, 449 pages

Plot in General (Synopsis from Goodreads):

It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just…disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list.

On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best friend back?

Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough.

Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not?

Kiss a stranger? Um…

Emily now has this unexpected summer, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected), to check things off Sloane’s list. Who knows what she’ll find?

Go skinny-dipping? Wait…what?

Thoughts in General:

Since You’ve Been Gone is actually my very first Morgan Matson read and I am happy with my choice. I have heard a lot of positive things about Morgan through Booktube and I am really adamant in pursuing to read every body of work by this wonderful author!

Then National Bookstore announced that they were bringing the author in the Philippines for a signing and it was like kismet. Anyway, the book was a cute contemporary that’ll really give you the summer feels.

Although I did find some aspects of it predictable and there were moments that just made me cringe, the overall feel was still satisfactory and I’m really happy with the entirety of the book.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset Processed with Snapseed.

Let’s get into the shallow part of the review! The cover really captured the essence of the book! I just love how everything was styled and designed considering that there are people on the cover (I’m not greatest fan of models on books).

Then when you take off the dust jacket…

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset Processed with Snapseed.

GLORIOUS!

The characters were all fun to read about. I strongly connected with Emily because we share the same attitudes towards stuff like parties, bars, and social situations. Which is why her character growth throughout was fun to witness and it made me think…

“If one of my best friends gave me a list similar to this, will it change me the way it changed her?”

Of course there were moments that showed the flaws of Emily and I wouldn’t be honest if I said that I didn’t judge her for it. However, these flaws made her feel more authentic and I eventually got over it.

Sloane reminded me so much of Alison DiLaurentis from Pretty Little Liars (except she wasn’t a vindictive, manipulative bitch). I guess the fact that they share the same alluring, cool, and mysterious traits made me think of this weird parallel. I liked how their friendship wasn’t perfect and that Sloane did lead their little clique.

Frank Porter was okay. I liked his and Emily’s friendship in the book.

Collins was much more interesting than Frank to be perfectly honest. Although he was kind of a cliche, I still enjoyed getting to know him better as the story progressed (especially the moment he had with Emily).

Dawn was also a nice edition to the crew and totally unexpected for me (especially the way that she was introduced in the book).

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset Processed with Snapseed.

I truly enjoyed how Emily ticked off the list Sloane gave her and finding out how she’ll be able to do it. It was so fun to see how Emily grew and how she became a much more adventurous person!

I also liked how the book featured family dynamics and not every home was perfect.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset Processed with Snapseed.
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset Processed with Snapseed.

However I have a few qualms about some aspects of the story:

*SPOILER ALERT* *SPOILER ALERT* *SPOILER ALERT*

I did not like how the romance unfolded. Yes YA contemporary stories feature loads of love and all the gooey stuff, but I just didn’t appreciate how easy the resolution was for that part especially in the plot. I was really hoping that things wouldn’t go down that route, but I knew that it was futile because it’s contemporary.

I wished that there was a closure for Emily and Dawn’s friendship because the situation was left wide open. Did they still became friends or was it truly over for them? I guess I just have to put the puzzle pieces on my own.

*YOU MAY NOW PROCEED*

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset Processed with Snapseed.

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson is an enjoyable read about friendships and challenging ones self for growth. If you’re in the mood for a YA contemporary without the excessive drama then pick up this book!

Have you read Since You’ve Been Gone? What are your thoughts regarding the book? Please don’t hesitate to share your feels down below!happy2breading

 

 

One thought on “Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson | Book Review

Leave a Reply

