#FeelsFest: My First #RomanceClass Event | Signed Adventures

October 22, 2016 – What’s a better way to spend a Saturday than with friends, books, authors, and a whole lot of feels! It was such an inspiring day I just had to document it here!

Anyway for those of you who are not aware, Mina V. Esguerra (author of The Interim Goddess of Love trilogyWelcome to Envy Park, etc.) spearheaded a writing class that turned into a community of local Filipino romance writers and readers known as #RomanceClass.

romanceclass-2016_a-main_onlight
If you want to learn more about #RomanceClass, click the image above.

In celebration of Filipino romance literature, Miss Mina and the rest of the #RomanceClass community host events such as #FeelsFest to promote their books and to spread the word of the rising popularity of English romance novels written by Filipinos. It is just amazing to see how far Philippine Literature has spread its wings and encompassed other genres not just literary fiction.

Anyway, I arrived at the event at around 1:30 in the afternoon and it was already buzzing with activity. There were different booths in the area and of course I had to check them out.

Processed with VSCO with s3 preset
BOOKS!
Processed with VSCO with s3 preset
MORE BOOKS!
Processed with VSCO with s3 preset
So many cool stickers, but I had no more money left so I wasn’t able to buy one. The NYC one was calling me, but I had to let it go (#DRAMATIC).
Processed with VSCO with s3 preset
Talecraft was a game I discovered back in High School when one of my best friends brought her pack for us to play with and I fell in love with it. I highly recommend all writers to pick up a deck and play the game because it’ll get your creative juices flowing. (NOTE: This is not sponsored by Komikasi in any manner. I am just a fan of their product and I wanted to share my two cents to you guys.)

It was really such a treat to see some of my book blogger friends and acquaintances at the event.

Processed with VSCO with s3 preset
Camelle of Home of A Book Lover
Processed with VSCO with s3 preset
Fay of The Bibliophile Soprano

I wasn’t able to take a photo with Leia of Random Reviews PH, Sab of Sab the Book Eater, Dianne of Oops I Read A Book Again, Anette of Anette the Wicked, and KB of Book Bed which sorta sucks. C’est la vie.

At around 2:00 Mina walked up to the stage and announced that the live readings will finally commence which will be played by some amazing performers namely Gio Gahol, Gab Pangilinan, Herv Alvarez, and Rachel Coates. Here are some of the clips I took during that day…

I wasn’t able to complete the entire live reading session because my arms got sore (the struggles of not having a tripod got real at that moment). The actors were all so good I actually got influenced to buy one of the books they read on stage, which I’ll be showing you guys later on.

A short break followed the live readings and I decided to pursue my 2 missions which were: 1) Find Beginner’s Guide: Love and Other Chemical Reactions by Six De Los Reyes and Someday with You by Ines Bautista Yao and 2) Hunt down all of the book by #RomanceClass authors that I already own and get them signed.

How did I do? Take a look…

with Mina V. Esguerra

with Stella Torres (author of Save The Cake)

with Agay Llanera (author of Vintage Love)

with Chris Mariano (author of Cover [Story] Girl)

I successfully bought the two books on my wish list and more…

with Six De Los Reyes (author of Beginner’s Guide: Love and Other Chemical Reactions)

with Ines Bautista-Yao (author of Only A Kiss and Someday With You)

with C.P. Santi (author of Maybe This Time)

Fun Fact (for me, at least): The main reason why I immediately purchased her short story collection was due to the awesome live reading performance of Gio Gahol and Gab Pangilinan!

with Kristine Cuevas (author of Let’s Call It Love)

Fun Fact#2: I was introduced with Kristine Cuevas due to a former colleague at work, who I was completely surprised to see at the event. She told me that the author was actually a co-worker of hers at her current employment, which was awesome!

To say that I enjoyed myself with #FeelsFest is a complete and utter understatement. It is so cool to see the growth of the Philippine’s writing community. Honestly, I felt so empowered and inspired to just pursue my dreams of writing a book and I hope that it will happen soon! Will you guys be interested in seeing this come to life?

Congratulations to all the authors and organizers of the event! #FeelsFest was everything I could have hoped for and more! I cannot wait for the next one!

Did you guys attend #FeelsFest? What are your thoughts regarding the event? Have you read any book by #RomanceClass, if so what was it?

happy2breading

2 thoughts on “#FeelsFest: My First #RomanceClass Event | Signed Adventures

Leave a Reply

