Love & Gravity by Samantha Sotto | ARC Book Review

31564042

Title: Love and Gravity

Author/s: Samantha Sotto

Publication: February 7th 2017 by Ballantine Books

Format: e-ARC

Source: NetGalley

Amazon

(DISCLAIMER: I received an e-ARC of this through Ballantine Books via Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. This fact did not affect my views regarding the book in any form or manner. Everything stated here in this review are my own honest opinions.)

Plot in a Nutshell:

In this unforgettable novel for fans of One Day and The Time Traveler’s Wife, a young Isaac Newton falls in love with a girl living in modern-day San Francisco, defying the laws of physics to forge a seemingly impossible connection.
 
Andrea Louviere is seven years old the first time he appears. While she’s alone in her bedroom, practicing her beloved cello, the light shivers and a crack forms in the wall. Through the crack, she sees a candle, a window, a desk—and a boy. Though no sound travels through the wall, the boy clearly sees Andrea, too. And then, just as quickly as it opened, the crack closes, and he vanishes.
 
Over the years, summoning the bright, magnetic boy becomes something of an obsession for Andrea. Then, on her seventeenth birthday, she receives a three-hundred-year-old love letter from Isaac Newton. Andrea knows that Isaac will change the world with his groundbreaking discoveries; the letter tells Andrea that she will change him.
 
As Isaac’s letters intensify in passion and intimacy, Andrea grows determined to follow his clues to their shared destiny—despite a burgeoning romance in the present. Only when she discovers the way into Isaac’s time does Andrea realize that she faces a heartbreaking decision: between what was . . . and what might be.

Thoughts in General:

Let me start off by saying that I am a huge fan of Samantha Sotto’s debut adult novel Before Ever After. I admit, I have been patiently waiting for a follow-up book since 2012, so you can only imagine how excited I got when I heard about Love and Gravity…

17616902
This was my actual reaction! LOL!

So when Samantha Sotto herself asked people on Twitter if there were bloggers who were willing to read and review an e-ARC of Love and Gravity, I jumped on that opportunity like my life depended on it and I got approved!

Aesthetics:

31564042

Traditionally, I would talk about the over-all aesthetics of the book in this portion, but since I read an e-ARC of it I can’t really talk about anything else aside from the cover. Frankly, the cover is just okay for me. It did not blew me away or made my eyes tear up blood from ugliness. It’s simple and still relevant to the story, but I just wish that the silhouette of the two people on the side did not exist because it just added an unnecessary cheesiness factor to it.

Story:

After learning about the plot of the novel my initial reaction was “that is one hell of a complicated story!” and I still can’t believe that Samantha Sotto actually pulled it off. She was able to manage different pieces of the story and meld it so seamlessly that I’m just amazed at how talented she is as a writer.

I’m not by any means a history buff or an Isaac Newton fanatic, but in my opinion the book was well-researched and it made me appreciate this revolutionary mathematician more. The author was able to sneak in a few historical tidbits about Newton in such an interesting way while maintaining the plausibility of the plot (i.e. his discovery of the various spectrum of colors in light).

The only issue I encountered is actually the romance. I know that it is like the soul of the whole book, however, I questioned the authenticity of it. I honestly felt like their was something missing in the development of the main relationship in the novel. Despite this fact, I eventually got swept along the love story between the characters. It was engaging enough to grow on me and stay with me until now.

Characters:

Admittedly, the characters are the highlight of Love and Gravity because majority of them felt realistic.

Andrea, the main character, was such a well-rounded protagonist because she exhibited so many flaws that made her feel authentic. Yes she made mistakes that had me rolling my eyes like…

tumblr_nxybyvb2dt1tq4of6o1_500

… but oddly enough I did not give up on her. I continued to root for her until the very end.

As I said earlier, I am clueless when it came to Isaac Newton‘s life and what his other contributions in the grand scheme of things were. But having read this novel I feel like I got a handle of what he was all about and Love and Gravity made me appreciate him more. Although he seemed to be the cookie-cutter type leading male in a romance and I guess being stuck majority in Andrea’s perspective made me think of him that way.

Then we have Nate who is Andrea’s faithful best friend and he’s my favorite character in the novel. I can’t really delve into the details as to why he stood out to me because I don’t want to spoil things for you, but I really liked how he was characterized in the book.

Despite some minor issues I had with it, Love and Gravity is a whirlwind romance that really stirred my emotions. It is a book that is created with such craftsmanship, it only takes an incredibly talented novelist  to weave in such a complicated plot combined with magical realism  and became this coherent and heartfelt piece of fiction. It only proved to me that Samantha Sotto is an amazing storyteller and she’s now officially one of my favorite authors ever.

Love and Gravity is slated to release on February 7th, 2017! In celebration of that, National Bookstore will be hosting a book signing event this February 11th, 2017 in National Bookstore Glorietta 1 at 3:00PM! For more details please see the event poster below!

16177466_10154278931011914_1844228431914751556_o
Photo Credit: National Bookstore

happy2breading

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s